We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Gold Member” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Marriott North to your Saves list
Austin Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Round Rock
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed Gold Member”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Austin Marriott North for 2 nights. We had reserved a room and indicated in the reservation that we had 4 persons traveling with us. Upon arrival around 9pm, we were given a king room and told there were no fold-outs. They told us they would give us pillows to make a palette on the floor.

While we knew that most of the hotels in the area were sold out due to multiple events in the area, it is completely unacceptable and poor planning on a hotel to place 4 persons in a king room. If the hotel cannot properly plan for such issues, then they need to update their reservation system to distinguish between king and 2 double beds as to make this even less likely to occur in the future.

Further, we ordered breakfast room service our first night to be delivered in the 6-6:15am range. At 6:40 we still had not received our food so we called down to room service in which we we informed that the delivery person was stuck in traffic and our food would be to us in 20 minutes. This is absolutely unacceptable - a full hour after the requested time when we used the pre-order breakfast form and hung it on our door at midnight the previous night. It is exceptionally poor customer service given that we were not even notified of the delay.

Lastly, the Starbucks on site was almost always closed. I never saw it open the several times I walked by it over the weekend.

In summary, we had a poor experience here. The only reason I didn't give it terrible was that the bar and restaurant staff were pleasant and the food was above average.

Room Tip: Be careful of getting a king room for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us at the Austin Marriott North. I am sorry that our hotel was not able to provide you with the quality of comfort you and your guest deserve. We understand how inconvenient it may be to have 1 king room for 4 guests. We try very hard to make sure all our guests have a comfortable experience, unfortunately with you we failed to do so. As far as your experience with our in-room dining, we truly value feedback from our guests as a direct path to move closer to our goal of excellence in all facets of our role as great hosts. Further, we will attempt to try to understand what went wrong within our process that allowed this issue to go unresolved. Thank you for taking the time to share this important information and for the complement regarding our wonderful restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
17
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I’ve been staying at the Marriott North for over 10 years. And while the hotel is a solid “good” it has slipped and is slipping down the scale. I attribute most of the slippage to lack of maintenance and no general refurbishment in years. Honestly, I hadn’t really noticed until I mentioned to a colleague that I was staying there and he said that he stopped going there because of the general lack of upkeep. I then started to notice that, yes, the hotel is in need some care. For example, the elevator buttons are severely scratched and there are numerous carpet stains throughout the hotel. Finally, there is a musty smell that waffs through the air. It’s doubtful I’ll stay there again when you can stay at much newer and nicer hotels at the Domain for the same price or even cheaper.

Still, service is excellent. Everyone is friendly and eager to help. Service is one area where the hotel still shines. This hotel is the only one that I am aware of in Round Rock that has room service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Austin Marriott North. I am sorry to hear that you feel that we are slipping, in efforts of making our hotel current and up to date we are currently going through some renovations. We are upgrading all our guest bathrooms with new walk in showers, comfort height toilets and spa vanities. When that project is done we will be replacing all our hallway carpets for a new and inviting look. We are so excited about our upgrades and would love for you to return as our guest to a brand new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a good hotel. Not new but well maintained and plenty clean. The rooms are medium sized and comfortable. The beds are a bit soft for my taste but in line with other Marriott properties. Service from the staff is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here while attending a baseball tournament. This has been our favorite hotel by far. They have a heated indoor pool that the kids could play at that was pretty sound proof so the kids could be kids and have fun. Very clean room, staff was VERY pleasant to work with. HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We are going back in May and already booked our rooms here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Austin Marriott North! I am so happy you enjoyed our indoor pool, our rooms, and our staff!!! I am aware of the many hotel choices you have in the area and I’m delighted to hear you have chosen us as your destination hotel for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauriceville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I made the decision to stay at the Marriott Austin North when our granddaughter moved to Round Rock three years ago. We have stayed at other downtown Austin facilities but wanted a closer facility to our family. As a Marriott Rewards customer we always look for convenience, safety, cleanliness, restaurant facilities, a fair lodging rate and a friendly staff with a genuinely excellent customer service attitude. We have certainly found all of these reasons to be accurate in our experiences during each of our visits over the last three years. Regardless of the time of day or night that we arrived we have always been greeted with an eagerness to serve us with excellent customer service. The Sous Chef, Mr. Greg Driver, has visited us at our breakfast table making sure that we were pleased with the quality of our food and we were enjoying an excellent breakfast. One of the facility managers, Ms. Sue Kunz, has also visited us at different times; in the hotel lobby, at the front desk and also in the restaurant making sure that we are having a pleasant stay at the Marriott Austin North. Beginning with the personnel at the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, restaurant personnel, to the student interns everyone that we have encountered displayed professionalism and extraordinary manners. We have stayed at other Marriott's in other cities and were pleased with the vast majority of them. We rate the Austin Marriott North as good if not better than any of our previous stays in Houston, San Antonio, Sugarland, and Baton Rouge. Marriott is definitely our personal choice for "home away from home lodging" when we travel. The close proximity for great shopping locations, easy access to downtown areas, and easy access to the MOPAC 1 expressway are additional reasons for selecting Marriott Austin North. We certainly recommend this property as a fantastic choice for a family with young children to retired seniors like the two of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review of our hotel! We are consistently working on being “simply the best” and it's so great to hear that our efforts are showing! I am aware of the many hotel choices you have in the area and I’m delighted you choose us as your destination hotel. We would like to think that what sets us apart from our competition is our team. The extra personal touch that you experienced is how we like to get to know our guest so we can make sure they feel at home away from home. We are all about immaculate costumer service!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Austin Marriott North hotel is ideally situated off the I35 highway and can be reached in less than 30 minutes from the airport (Toll payable). The facilities in the hotel are perfect for any traveller with nothing left uncovered. The rooms are spacious and clean with plenty of room to relax and work. The amenities around and about the hotel are ideal for a holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel and giving out a great tip on how to get here! I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, value, and amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for SXSW. It was a fairly good experience.

The staff from the manager on down was amongst the best at any Marrriott that I have stayed at (Platinum Elite). They seem to help each other out, and have good team work. One of the assistant managers even opened up the Starbucks bar and made coffee for me.

The facility is clean and well maintained. And the location is fairly good - a little confusing from 35 and 1, but once you get the hang of it, you can get to just about any place in Austin relatively easily. It was only about 15 minutes down to Gateway and the Arboretum which I used for Whole Foods and healthy dinner. If you are going downtown Austin for an event like SXSW, I think that this is actually a pretty good choice. It will take you about 25 minutes safely to get downtown. Just make sure that you get the exits planned out in advance. I came in on the north side at 234C and that worked well - around 11th street.

Overall, I would recommend this property as a safe choice, and a good experience.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground level south side and it was a very good location. Most of all it was easily a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review of our hotel for our future guests! We are consistently working to be the best, and it's so great to hear that our efforts are showing! We are located in a great location whether you’re going into Austin or staying in Round Rock. We are also minutes away via car from the Howard Metrorail station that can take you all the way downtown. That can be very useful during SXSW.
I would love to have you return as our guest next time your travels bring you to
the Austin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott North

Address: 2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Round Rock
#10 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the best in guest satisfaction, the award-winning Austin Marriott North hotel defines superior service and amenities. The only full-service hotel in Round Rock, TX, offering a convenient location in La Frontera E-Commerce Park near Dell Headquarters, Hewlett Packard, Samsung and IBM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austin Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott North Hotel Round Rock
Marriott Round Rock
Marriott Hotel Round Rock
Round Rock Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.