We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Marriott Personnel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Austin Marriott North to your Saves list
Austin Marriott North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Round Rock
Mauriceville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary Marriott Personnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I made the decision to stay at the Marriott Austin North when our granddaughter moved to Round Rock three years ago. We have stayed at other downtown Austin facilities but wanted a closer facility to our family. As a Marriott Rewards customer we always look for convenience, safety, cleanliness, restaurant facilities, a fair lodging rate and a friendly staff with a genuinely excellent customer service attitude. We have certainly found all of these reasons to be accurate in our experiences during each of our visits over the last three years. Regardless of the time of day or night that we arrived we have always been greeted with an eagerness to serve us with excellent customer service. The Sous Chef, Mr. Greg Driver, has visited us at our breakfast table making sure that we were pleased with the quality of our food and we were enjoying an excellent breakfast. One of the facility managers, Ms. Sue Kunz, has also visited us at different times; in the hotel lobby, at the front desk and also in the restaurant making sure that we are having a pleasant stay at the Marriott Austin North. Beginning with the personnel at the front desk, the housekeeping personnel, restaurant personnel, to the student interns everyone that we have encountered displayed professionalism and extraordinary manners. We have stayed at other Marriott's in other cities and were pleased with the vast majority of them. We rate the Austin Marriott North as good if not better than any of our previous stays in Houston, San Antonio, Sugarland, and Baton Rouge. Marriott is definitely our personal choice for "home away from home lodging" when we travel. The close proximity for great shopping locations, easy access to downtown areas, and easy access to the MOPAC 1 expressway are additional reasons for selecting Marriott Austin North. We certainly recommend this property as a fantastic choice for a family with young children to retired seniors like the two of us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review of our hotel! We are consistently working on being “simply the best” and it's so great to hear that our efforts are showing! I am aware of the many hotel choices you have in the area and I’m delighted you choose us as your destination hotel. We would like to think that what sets us apart from our competition is our team. The extra personal touch that you experienced is how we like to get to know our guest so we can make sure they feel at home away from home. We are all about immaculate costumer service!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    56
    29
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
16
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Austin Marriott North hotel is ideally situated off the I35 highway and can be reached in less than 30 minutes from the airport (Toll payable). The facilities in the hotel are perfect for any traveller with nothing left uncovered. The rooms are spacious and clean with plenty of room to relax and work. The amenities around and about the hotel are ideal for a holiday or business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel and giving out a great tip on how to get here! I am pleased that you enjoyed our location, value, and amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for SXSW. It was a fairly good experience.

The staff from the manager on down was amongst the best at any Marrriott that I have stayed at (Platinum Elite). They seem to help each other out, and have good team work. One of the assistant managers even opened up the Starbucks bar and made coffee for me.

The facility is clean and well maintained. And the location is fairly good - a little confusing from 35 and 1, but once you get the hang of it, you can get to just about any place in Austin relatively easily. It was only about 15 minutes down to Gateway and the Arboretum which I used for Whole Foods and healthy dinner. If you are going downtown Austin for an event like SXSW, I think that this is actually a pretty good choice. It will take you about 25 minutes safely to get downtown. Just make sure that you get the exits planned out in advance. I came in on the north side at 234C and that worked well - around 11th street.

Overall, I would recommend this property as a safe choice, and a good experience.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground level south side and it was a very good location. Most of all it was easily a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review of our hotel for our future guests! We are consistently working to be the best, and it's so great to hear that our efforts are showing! We are located in a great location whether you’re going into Austin or staying in Round Rock. We are also minutes away via car from the Howard Metrorail station that can take you all the way downtown. That can be very useful during SXSW.
I would love to have you return as our guest next time your travels bring you to
the Austin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

this hotel is a stone`s throw from the company offices i work for / visited during my short brief stay in Austin. I enjoyed the convenience of walking to the office rather than commute via public or private means. The hotel is situated in a low density residential area community and if you value serenity and silence, this would be an ideal abode within Austin.

Room Tip: nothing out of the ordinary or peculiar worth recommending or highlighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AWLevinson, Front Office Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the Austin Marriott North and am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us! Our location and amenities make us a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. I am pleased that it worked out so well for you. I hope you will choose to stay with us the next time you are visiting! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is convenient and has most of the facilities you'd expect. It would really benefit from a make-over but the whole experience is lifted significantly by a great staff team. From the cleaners, through reception to the bar and restaurant staff everyone was super-friendly and helpful. One tip is to avoid the Starbucks concession out of hours - reception will get someone from the kitchen to come and serve you but they lack the skills to make the drinks - the frappuccino they made me was pretty awful. Overall very good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice location and stay but rooms are starting to look very worn down and old, which makes it hard to pay the increased cost of this location.

Room was okay, but not as crisp and clean as expected. Will not stay here unless corporate company requires the stay, as other newer hotels offer a better value for the money and are significantly more updated.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on this location if traveling on personal dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCovington, General Manager at Austin Marriott North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We have worked hard to care for our hotel since it opened 12 years ago, but I do agree there are some areas that could use an update in decor.
In fact you might have noticed the fabulous new Marriott Great Room complete with the new TV's, trendy seating areas, exciting new carpets and our Starbucks Cafe.
Our next step started this week and involves taking this upscale style into our guestrooms that will be receiving a fresh look complete with walk in showers and spa style vanities.
I do hope that you will choose to visit us again when here in the Austin area and experince the added value we are bringing to this award winning hotel.
Again, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We planned a family weekend to just relax and be close enough to everything to do whatever we wanted.

The location is amazing, you have great food, shopping and easy highwya access.

The best part was actually the staff at this hotel. They were always more than helpful and just plain nice people. Any request we had was met with a smile, and not one of those fake smiles, these people seem to really love their job.

The River City Grille staff was exactly the same. Their buffet breakfast was terrific and had a lot of options. Constantly felt pampered but not at a high price.

Thank you to the enitre property, we will be back and soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott North

Address: 2600 La Frontera Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78681
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Round Rock
#10 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the best in guest satisfaction, the award-winning Austin Marriott North hotel defines superior service and amenities. The only full-service hotel in Round Rock, TX, offering a convenient location in La Frontera E-Commerce Park near Dell Headquarters, Hewlett Packard, Samsung and IBM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Austin Marriott North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott North Hotel Round Rock
Marriott Round Rock
Marriott Hotel Round Rock
Round Rock Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.