We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Very Nice Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Round Rock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2340 North IH-35, Round Rock, TX 78728   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Round Rock
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Very Nice Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here on business for three days and was very impressed. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Suite was very clean and comfortable. Made a 3 day business trip very enjoyable. Thanks to the staff for all the great service at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
12
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Room was spacious and very clean. Indoor pool/hot tub area was rather small but very nice and clean. Restaurant was disappointing but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Close to IKEA and Outlet Mall. Easy on/off I-35. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idabel, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We was on our way back home from Corpus Christi/San Antonio area and stopped for the night at this hotel. Apparently we stayed the night when a traveling basketball team was staying the night and it was the worst night sleep EVER. We was on the 2nd floor and the floor above us was apparently preparing for a track meet or something. We heard ever foot step made. The room was clean except the walls in the bathroom (that needs some work). The room space was wasted when some of it could have been used for the bathroom you had to shift around just to get door closed in the bathroom because it was so tight in there. Breakfast was good but when checking out we they asked how our night was and we explained how bad our night was and their comment was "well did you call someone" with an attitude and what good would that have done when the hotel loud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Round Rock, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Karen_0474745,

Thank you for your stay, and providing feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the breakfast and clean rooms. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the size of the bathroom, noise from our other guests and also for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. I will make sure that your feedback will be reviewed and be forwarded to the appropriate departments. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

three families are traveling to Georgetown, TX for a family get together! One couple did not know there was a Holiday Inn Express in Georgetown and used Hotwire, booked in Round
Rock. Shortly thereafter they were informed of the Georgetown Holiday Inn Express & congenial employee, Michelle, and that we the rest of the group had all used Holiday Inn Express, Georgetown. Round Rock Holiday Inn Express/Hotwire maintained they would not allow a refund simply to move to the convenient Georgetown Holiday Inn Express. Just moving to the closest location. they had to cancel the Georgetown Holiday Inn Express and have to stay further away in Round Rock.

After review past guests comments I would never stay at the Round Rock Location or use Hotwire.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Round Rock, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Marilu Roy W,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had problems canceling your reservations made through a third party web-site. Certain restrictions apply to these types of reservations, and as such, we are unable to make any changes or modifications through our hotel directly. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed here for three nights recently with my husband and my sister. The suite was very spacious. Lots of room for us and the family we were visiting to sit and talk. A little dark as there was no overhead lighting. All light in the living area and bedroom was from lamps. Even though there were several of them, it just seemed a little dark if you did not have the drapes drawn back. As we were on the first floor that really didn't work well for us. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was totally booked on two of the three nights. Lots of high school and college athletes. Even with that the breakfast was good and they did a great job of keeping everything available. Front desk staff was very helpful. The outdoor hot tub was not working so they made arrangements with the Holiday Inn just a couple of blocks away to use theirs. It was inside so it was a little steamy but the water was warm and the jets were strong. So we really appreciated it. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here due to the location. As a previous review stated we had issues with the plastic mattress pad too, very uncomfortable and noisy. Our room faced the front of the motel so it was very noisy. It seemed that people were locking their cars causing their horns to honk all night long. The birds were noisy in the trees outside when it began to get light. No cinnamon rolls at the buffet and pancakes with no syrup greeted us in the morning. The room was clean and so was the lobby area. I would rate this as an average stay.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Round Rock, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
the2Dacys,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. I'm sorry your stay was disturbed by the ambient noise surrounding the hotel, but pleased to see you enjoyed your room. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel because it was the one the bride and groom blocked for their out of town guests. Unlike a previous poster there were no deals going on this weekend.

Check in was quick and painless with a very pleasant and personable lady. Room was clean and pretty much what you would expect. We requested and received a king room. The room was stuffy and we like to sleep in a very cool room. Turned the thermostat down to 68 and it proceeded to cool down to 73 about the time we were packed up and ready to leave. It had a microwave that we never even opened and a mini fridge that did work and was used. It had a small table and two ladder back chairs in the corner of the kitchen alcove. It had a work area with a desk and a chair and instead of a sofa or love seat for which there was room, it had one overstuffed chair. OK, it is what it is. Odd but,hey it is clean and we are here for a good nights sleep before we head home.

Good location with the proximity of dining choices within walking distance. If I remember correctly they have Cracker Barrel, Chuy's (Tex-Mex), and Salt Grass steakhouse.

Got back to our room late and climbed in to the king bed to CRUNCH! There was a crunch to every movement - all night. Yes, they have a plastic backed mattress pad on the king bed, just like the old baby pads. Apparently they expect people that suffer from incontinence going commando in their hotel. Understandably wanting to protect a good mattress. So again, why was this monstrosity on the bed when the mattress was the equivalent to sleeping on a mattress from outdoor furniture on a piece of plywood.

So needless to say when I went down for breakfast I was not in the most tolerant mood. Looking forward to heading home after a hearty breakfast. Wrong! They were out or down to crumbs on everything. E V E R Y T H I N G! Out of six pump thermos' no coffee. No eggs, no bacon, no rolls. The lady had her hands full trying to get the pancake maker to make. She had back up but I only saw him clean a table or two. The young man behind the front desk did assist her finally and refill a coffee thermos. But why would he just fill one and then put it on the back row?

I did let them know of the disappointing shortcomings at check out and was told that yes, they know about the problems with the mattress pad they wished I had called down (at 12:30 am) and that they would normally have move us to another room but since South by Southwest was taking place in nearby Austin they were sold out and would not have had a room to move us. This little exchange helps how?

Which is more unsettling, the fact they have chosen not to address issues they were previously made aware of or the total indifference to their annual cash crop of expected guests assumed to be from Austin's film and music festival South by Southwest.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Round Rock, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Lovie2,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Round Rock.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Round Rock

Address: 2340 North IH-35, Round Rock, TX 78728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Round Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We love fresh, we love new, we love our hotel and, we love you! That is why our staff will be working around the clock to make our transition from a Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites into a Holiday Inn Express as smooth as possible. The Express brand was created for families and business travelers alike. The anticipated completion date for our conversion will be early to mid-June. We feel confident that this conversion will be a success, thanks to our wonderful guests and staff. This property was a recipient of The Intercontinental Hotels Group Quality Excellence Award. The Holiday Inn Austin-Round Rock is where luxury, convenience and affordability await you. We offer our guests quality accommodations in beautifully decorated spacious suites. Every guest is welcomed by our friendly, professional staff who is dedicated to making each stay a pleasant, safe, and memorable experience.Our property is conveniently located in the heart of the sports capital of Texas. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is located on IH 35 N, just minutes from several major employment and recreation sites. Dell Computers, Texas State University, Teco Westinghouse, Cypress Semiconductors, Dell Diamond (home of the Round Rock Express baseball team), Old Settler s Park, the new Round Rock Premium Outlet mall are all within just 5 miles of the Holiday Inn. To add to the convenience factor, we have several wonderful restaurants that border the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Holiday Inn Round Rock
Round Rock Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.