We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
602 McNeil Road, # 112, Round Rock, TX 78681
(512) 716-1703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 278 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Houston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been traveling to Round Rock for ten years visiting family. We have eaten in many restaurants, and without a doubt this was the best dining experience in all these years. I had Italian, and my husband had Mexican food. Food was well prepared, good service, and good value. Not fancy, located in a strip center.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
603 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“This place is rated number 1 for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I asked the front desk of our hotel for someplace that had great food and was not a chain. They recommended La Cocina, the clerk said it was Half Mexican, half Italian!

Sounds like a strange mix, but man was the food good. I had the Fajitas and my business associate had the fish.

Both were amazing.

Also the inside was tastefully done with really nice wall murals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't Beat This One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Place was clean.
Servers were friendly.
Prices were very reasonable.
The food was great!
Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a hidden gem. Great food, although both Italian and Mexican are offered on the menu, we ordered both and were pleasantly surprised at the freshness and authenticity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Round Rock or Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you're looking for great food, great service and a super wine list for a small family restaurant go to La Cocina Bar and Grill for Italian or Mexican food. I found the place shortly after it opened several years ago and the food has been consistently outstanding. Be sure to try any specials that Chef Ish Diaz comes up with on Fridays and Saturdays because he makes some real gems. It's hard to say what my favorite dish is because the entire menu is outstanding. This is a must visit place and worth the drive if you are coming from Austin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.