We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for its price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Round Rock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Hotel for its price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed here in Dec 07 for 1.5 months. This is a pretty good hotel. No frills but you get a decent 1 bedroom suite with a good kitchen. Excellent for long stays. Very good location. Lots of entertainment around. The rooms are super clean and the staff very helpful. No breakfast though.

Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
9
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
georgetown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

First off the hotel is not by any means comfortable. It offers no room service, meaning not even clean towels are brought to your room or trash cans are emptied. When I asked about this, they said they offered weekly cleaning. Yet the rate is $123.00 per night. At checkout, I was charged an incorrect rate and then when I tried to fix the rate, the manager said he was going to charge me $50.00 for cleaning services due to dirty towels and trash from packages that I received from UPS and opened so that I could pack items in luggage. Also, in one pic packing materials that I did not scatter were scattered purposely so that room would look like trash had been scattered throughout instead of being left in one spot under the table by trash can as I left it. I have never in all my travels encountered such awful service. I guess I was expected to take my trash with me and wash their towels. Unbelievable. I was then sent pics by the manager to confirm. Yes, it confirmed that their were dirty towels left by the toilet in restroom, boxes and trash by the trash can and some packing material that fell out of boxes. Oh sorry, also I did not clean up the kitchen counter before leaving, Incredible!!!!!!! If you stay here, make sure you bring a broom and cleaning items so that you may not be charged for cleaning services which you did not even benefit of during your stay.

  • Disliked — Management, taken advantage of
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

For a modest price, this hotel provides free internet access, a full kitchen, free washer and dryer, free movies to borrow, free coffee, a convenience store, and a great staff. HOWEVER, you need to stay at least 4 nights and the beds are awful for more than one person. They are 5 inchess from a wall and impossible to get in that side without crawling over another person or having them get up. Even the maids complain about how hard it is to make the bed. With so much positive, the beds are a serious negative.

  • Liked — All the freebes
  • Disliked — The beds were awful
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

We had a "clean, comfortable room" for our one-night stay at this hotel - but the 3-star price we paid definitely wasn't a good value.

The decor was extremely spartan, along the lines of Super 8: bare walls, ultra-inexpensive-looking furnishings with TVs perched on top, fluorescent lighting throughout.

The mechanical flaws: bedside lamps which could only be turned off by unscrewing the bulbs, a broken switch for the overhead bedroom light, and an improperly-installed shower faucet which could deliver either too-hot or too-cold water but not warm water.

In fairness to the hotel, we didn't request maintenance or a room change and so can't speak to how quickly or well the broken lights and faucet might have been resolved. When I reported the problems next morning at checkout, the very pleasant desk clerk told me the bedside lamp problem was property-wide and in the process of being renovated; she took note of the other problems.

With its mini-kitchen, ample space, and a heavily-discounted rate (the first question we were asked on check-in was if we were military), this would be a perfectly fine choice for a home-away-from-home extended stay. But for the Hilton/ Hyatt/ Marriott-level price we paid, this property simply didn't measure up to the standard we expected.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Bare-bones, not-great state of repair, overpriced
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2004

This is a very nice clean hotel, and is perfect for business travelers and people who are relocating. All the rooms have full kitchens and vcrs. The price is affordable, too. I recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Address: 521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Round Rock 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.At the Candlewood Suites Austin Round Rock Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are located on IH 35, near Dell Computers and close to restaurants, attractions and shopping centers. Downtown Austin, Austin City Limits, Southwestern University and the University of Texas are all within a 20 minute drive of the hotel. The Dell Diamond with Round Rock Express baseball is 5 minutes away. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of Round Rock Hospital, and less than 5 miles from the new Round Rock Premium Outlet center. All guest rooms in the hotel feature full kitchens and one queen size bed. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel offers complimentary laundry facilities, a full fitness center, business desk in the lobby with Internet and both wired and wireless high speed Internet connections in guest rooms. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel is pet friendly. A non-refundable pet fee of $75 to $150 is required along with a signed pet agreement at check-in. Documentation specifying that all vaccinations are up to date must be available. Call hotel for a copy of the full pet policy.The maximum number of guests (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Candlewood Round Rock
Round Rock Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.