We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Round Rock to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Round Rock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Round Rock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the oldest looking Candlewoods I have stayed in. Great staff very friendly. But the hotel is is bad need of updated. The carpet has seen better days. The kitchen looks old and is old. The halls have a constant bad order due to the 80's style carpet. Overall I would keep the staff and get rid of the hotel. I would recommend for overnight stays. But don't do as I did booked for 2 months site unseen.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We definitely appreciate your feedback on our hotel, as well as our team here. We love to hear how highly you think of our team. Thank you!! As for your feedback on our hotel, I will be working with the Housekeeping and Maintenance department to insure that they are doing their best to maintain a clean and fresh environment for each and every guest.

Crystal Castillo
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
12
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

This was a great hotel for the money. Room was very nice. Not fancy, but very clean and updated. Beds were real comfortable. Everyone was very friendly. And good location also. They have an area outback if you want to grill something and a few picnic tables also. Pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay, it was definitely our pleasure to have been able to please you. We hope you will visit again soon.


Crystal Castillo
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I was in town to shoot a film, for a six night stay. I was very impressed with the staff They were very friendly and expressed a willingness to accomodate us in all ways. Yes, you are on the frontage road of the freeway which is very convenient. My husband and I found the noise minimal.
We were able to bring our dog, a 60 lb., Red Heeler, with us and she was welcomed by the staff and housekeeping as well. The facility is extremely pet friendly with a special 'PAW" (Pets Are Welcome) section. There were treats at the front desk on our arrival.
The rooms are compact, but not cramped. We made a side trip and picked up groceries so we could eat in when the days were long. We found they provided everything necessary to cook and eat. The Kitchenette included a full sized refrigerator.
We couldn't have been happier.
Juli

Room Tip: You can request a room on the side away from the freeway if you are sensitive to noise. It did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We welcome all feedback in order to improve our Hotel and this review helps shows us how our efforts really pay off,I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you and your furry friend again soon.

Crystal Castillo
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I had an unpleasant stay with noisy A/C and refrigerator in 1st room. Moved to 2nd room and discovered quiet A/C and refrigerator, but other appliances broken!
Certainly not what I expected in a Candlewood Suites from previous stays.

Room Tip: Unsure if any rooms are in full working condition. Trains several times a day from nearby track.High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear LoveHawaii10Dallas,

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. It is good to know that after some initial issues you had with the room, this was rectified quickly. However, I apologize if you found the room amenities in the second room to be less than satisfactory. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest.

Shall your travels bring you to the area again we hope for the opportunity to provide you a quality stay with us all around.
Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

On the whole the staff were very nice. The only room left was a double and i was staying with a mate. i asked if we could swap rooms but they had nothing else. within 10 mins of getting in the room they brought a pop up bed round to us. facilities were very good. The only gripe we had which we're laughing about is the amtrak train that rolls through every 30 mins. sure it started about 4 am or something. The trains rolling noise wasn't too bad it was the loud horns they blew all the way through that removed the need for an alarm clock and a snooze button. For all the businessmen who are worried about missing that 7 am meeting I totally recommend it as there is no way you will over sleep unless your packing some serious ear defenders. Shame a train can spoil an otherwise good value for money hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

1. The location is just beside I-35, which means it's convenient to drive to other parts of the city. But it also brings the problem of noise: half of their rooms are facing the highway, which is not a good news for someone sensitive to noise like me. I asked for a shift of the room but they refused me and said they do not have any room left though it was only 5:00 pm, 2 hours after the check-in time.

2. The room is clean, so are the appliances and cookwares. Though as a studio, it is not very spacious.

3. Staff is good. Because they do not offer daily cleaning, you may ask whatever you are short of on the front desk. But I called three times before they sent me the rolling bed I asked as early as I checked in.

4. They do not offer breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing I-35. But some rooms are facing the railway, too, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Sodaorchid,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Your feedback with the noise and our services has been noted for review and future considerations. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused you.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with the best hotel experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Arriving at the hotel, the exterior reminded me somewhat of a lower budget hotel. When we walked inside, in the lobby area, there was a really unpleasant smell that continued throughout the hallways of the entire hotel. It smelled sour and musty - not clean or fresh. Nikki at the front desk was very friendly, however and welcomed us to the hotel. The room was pretty nice, although some of the countertops were missing the trim for some reason. Thankfully, the awful smell from the hallways was not in the room as well! Plenty of space for us to set up our pack n' play for the baby. The bed was small - a queen? Nice kitchen area with stove, microwave, fridge, coffeepot, and even some microwave popcorn that we discovered in the cupboard the next morning. Pretty clean and didn't notice the sounds of the train at night, that some reviewers mention. For an inexpensive stay, I'd maybe go here again, but I wish they'd do something about that smell! Yuck!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Address: 521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Round Rock 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.At the Candlewood Suites Austin Round Rock Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are located on IH 35, near Dell Computers and close to restaurants, attractions and shopping centers. Downtown Austin, Austin City Limits, Southwestern University and the University of Texas are all within a 20 minute drive of the hotel. The Dell Diamond with Round Rock Express baseball is 5 minutes away. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of Round Rock Hospital, and less than 5 miles from the new Round Rock Premium Outlet center. All guest rooms in the hotel feature full kitchens and one queen size bed. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel offers complimentary laundry facilities, a full fitness center, business desk in the lobby with Internet and both wired and wireless high speed Internet connections in guest rooms. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel is pet friendly. A non-refundable pet fee of $75 to $150 is required along with a signed pet agreement at check-in. Documentation specifying that all vaccinations are up to date must be available. Call hotel for a copy of the full pet policy.The maximum number of guests (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Candlewood Round Rock
Round Rock Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.