We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Round Rock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The road noise from IH 35 was bad enough but then add in the late night trains with horns blowing! I would suggest ear plugs as I only got 3 hrs of sleep. Hotel key issued at check in didn't work and had to go back to desk to get it activated. Non smoking hotel but halls smell of smoke. Room however was clean and no smoke smell.ed comfortable.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I do regret that you did not get a restful night's sleep as that is our goal for each and every one of our guests. I also love your suggestion of ear plugs and will have these on hand for guests who do need them in order to get a full nights sleep. Thank you!

I will make sure that we go back with each of our team members on the desk to ensure we are making keys appropriately so our guests do not have to make the sometimes long trek back to the front desk for assistance. Our third floor does contain smoking rooms and I am sorry that the hallway smelled of smoke, our housekeeping department is working on that issue right now so that we may continue to improve our hotel.

Thank you so much for the comments to help us work harder so that all of our guests may have a great night's sleep and comfortable stay with us. I also appreciate the kudos to the cleanliness of your room and the comfort of the bed. I hope that you might give us another try next time you're in the Round Rock area to see the improvements you have helped us to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
8
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was very pleased and surprised by how clean this hotel was. I am very picky about cleanliness when I'm away from home and this hotel was very pleasing. I was even more surprised by the hospitality of the staff, specifically, a housekeeper named Rachel.

Rachel brought us extra towels, took our excess trash and constantly asked us if we needed anything. All of this with a great smile and no attitude, we have stayed at many hotels and I have never been as pleased as I was during my stay at this Round Rock hotel.

We will be visiting soon and I plan on staying at this hotel again, I sure hope Rachel is there, I will ask for her assistance specifically.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to complete a review of your stay on TripAdvisor! We are always delighted to hear from our guests and share reviews with the entire team. We strive for this sort of excellence with all of our guests and I am so pleased that you not only enjoyed your stay but, more specifically, that you had such a great experience with Rachel.
Again, thank you for such a great review and we'll see you next time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was attending training near by and decided to stay at this Candlewood Suites. The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was efficient.

The only down side is the train horns at 0 dark thirty (multiple times a night). The tracks are only a thousand yards or so south of the hotel. Most times there only seemed to be a couple of horn blasts but I'm convinced some engineers took great pleasure in seeing how long they could blast that horn just to make sure everyone was awake. I know the hotel can't control the horns but I'd suggest that unless you're a really sound sleeper ask for a room on the north side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Dale S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk services and comfortable rooms. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced because of the noise. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our Church stayed at this particular Candlewood Suites and this place is incredible and the staff is remarkable especially Steven. The rooms are very clean and have fully functioning appliances and comfortable beds. The staff was very attentive to the needs of every person that came through the doors. Wish they serve breakfast it would be perfect then. Keep up the good work, God Bless

Mrs. Dorothy

Room Tip: Ask for room near exit if you are not a smoker, the air inside the room is a lot fresher no smoke co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Mrs. Dorothy

I appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us - and what a great review! We were glad to have you with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived a little early and the staff was wonderful they went ahead and got us to our suite early. It was better than what I had expected honestly. Very clean, quiet, well stocked with dishes and cookware. We enjoyed our stay well enough that we will for sure be going back again. The only down side was there was no pool for swimming, but they have a fitness room and laundry area. You can get dvd's to watch if you want. They also have a little store incase you need a snack or a drink late at night. Worth giving a shot in my opinion you wont be disapointed I'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi "Itsjustme69"!

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your stay with us in April! We love to share these great comments with the entire team during our meetings and are so glad to hear you'll be back with us next time your travels bring you to the Round Rock/Austin area.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

When i made my reservations over the phone. I asked if it was in comparison to Holiday Inn Express and I told "yes". In short, it was not. I was very disappointed in the fact that my room had a roach in it and the staff down played as if it was okay. The toilette was running and when I told the manager she stated she is not a maintenance person but will try to stop the running of the toilette. She then told me if it happens again to just shake the handle. I mean REALLY?....I guess you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Panamanianangel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirabel, Qc
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at 4 different Candlewood during our trip in Texas and they were all good.
But, this is here that we had the nicest and friendliest greetings and service at check-in and check-out. It needs a special mention.
The room was nice, very clean and had a very confo bed.
The hotel was quiet, clean and smelled good.
As I already said, the front desk service was excellent, friendly and helpful.
There is a propane grill outside that we finally didn't use because it was pouring rain that night : (
Great value for the price paid.
Good location to visit Austin but there is a lot of traffic going south in the morning so go around it by the city streets instead of taking the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for such a warm review. I am glad you were able to stick within the Candlewood Suites family throughout your trip! Everyone here works hard to ensure our guests feel as welcomed at our hotel as they do when they're visiting family and friends. We love this place as our home and want everyone to feel the same.

Thank you again for such a great review and the special mention about the team here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Address: 521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Round Rock 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.At the Candlewood Suites Austin Round Rock Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are located on IH 35, near Dell Computers and close to restaurants, attractions and shopping centers. Downtown Austin, Austin City Limits, Southwestern University and the University of Texas are all within a 20 minute drive of the hotel. The Dell Diamond with Round Rock Express baseball is 5 minutes away. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of Round Rock Hospital, and less than 5 miles from the new Round Rock Premium Outlet center. All guest rooms in the hotel feature full kitchens and one queen size bed. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel offers complimentary laundry facilities, a full fitness center, business desk in the lobby with Internet and both wired and wireless high speed Internet connections in guest rooms. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel is pet friendly. A non-refundable pet fee of $75 to $150 is required along with a signed pet agreement at check-in. Documentation specifying that all vaccinations are up to date must be available. Call hotel for a copy of the full pet policy.The maximum number of guests (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Candlewood Round Rock
Round Rock Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.