We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Round Rock
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Rose Hill,KS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had an extended stay at the hotel for 3 months.The staff was very friendly! We had no problems with security, the room was cleaned as often as we wished, supplies for the room (paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, etc) furnished as needed. Pets were welcomed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
9
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed one night in March 2013. Guests seemed a little on the shady side if thats accurate, seemed like a lot of rent by the week tenants. Staff was overly accomodating and very friendly. The room was suprisingly large and had a small kitchen. Overall I did not feel very comfortable in parking lot or common areas but I had no issues with the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear 79SteveO,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased that you found our rooms and staff commendable. I am sorry you found the atmosphere of our hotel parking area and some common areas less than satisfactory. We are constantly working to improve our service and your comments are very valuable to us. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Grove, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was looking for a good and affordable hotel near where my daughter lives in Round Rock, Texas. I chose this one based solely on price (about $80 per night) and reviews on Tripadvisor. Every good thing you've read in prior reviews is absolutely true. I couldn't exaggerate the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. They clearly hire and train people to value their customers above all. The room was very clean and included a full kitchen with cookware. While I was only there for 4 nights, I'll be back and stay longer in the future. The bed was comfortable and the room had everything I needed. You will not be disappointed when you stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 311 and had no complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for such a terrific review of our hotel - what a great way to start our week!
We are so lucky to have such a friendly, committed team at the Candlewood Suites and your comments will be shared with them all.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here March 23-26, 2013 with my 2 teenaged daughters. The exterior looked fine, but once inside I did not feel comfortable or safe. Although I think mgmt has tried to do everything possible to spruce up this dreary hotel, the effort fell flat for me. Although I could never really put my finger on it, I, too, never felt clean there, and frequently experienced the smell of food cooking in another room. (Once was some kind of fish; yuck!) We ended up taking showers at our relative's house, and if they had had room, we would have just packed up and stayed there. As it was we only went to the hotel to sleep. The furnishings in our very small room were cheap and shabby. We had requested a room on an upper floor on the backside of the hotel away from Interstate 35, which we got; however, there is a basketball court and a gazebo with a BBQ grill there and it was a little noisy. I requested a rollaway bed for my daughter, and to say the mattress was shot is an understatement. It was extremely worn and had holes in it. I will post a pic of it. Apparently housekeeping only cleans the rooms once a week. Maybe some people are accustomed to staying in places which can be admittedly much worse; it was definitely not what I expected from InterContinental Hotel Group.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I’m very concerned that you did not feel comfortable or safe while you were staying in our hotel. Please allow me to address some of your concerns as we do our best to make sure that all of our guests do feel comfortable and safe.
I understand the smell of cooking food may cause a feeling of uncleanliness. Our travelers have a wide variety of culinary taste and many travel far from home. Having individual cooking facilities allows them to not only cook the foods they are accustomed to, but also as a means to reduce expenses. We are an extended stay hotel and guests stay with us for weeks, months, and even years.
The rollaway beds are only two years old, and due to the high occupancy of this hotel, new beds have been ordered. The Candlewood Suites extended stay program is designed for one housekeeping service per week. However, our housekeeping department is staffed and available seven days a week and we are open to additional housekeeping requests.
Again, please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while a guest in our hotel. I sincerely hope that this does not prevent you from making Intercontinental Hotels Group a choice for your future accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything was as I expected it to be, I have always enjoyed Candlewood Suites and this one was clean and the staff was friendly. They easy to access from all the highways we needed and even helped sugest places to eat and visit during our time in the Auston area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about Candlewood Suites as a brand as well as this particular location. We strive to be the friendliest hotel in town and are very pleased to have been able to help make your stay enjoyable and everything you expected. I hope you enjoyed your final dining choice and got to see some of the many great sites in the Austin area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This isn't for the type that needs a lot of ambiance. My studio suite was clean and comfortable. The decor was understated, which can be a relief after spending time in some overdecorated B&Bs. A full sized refrigerator, double burner range, microwave, sink, dishes, dishwasher, a well proportioned bathroom and a flat panel TV with a DVD player are luxury enough when one is focused on the outside world. After a day of driving around the Austin area it is nice to be able to avoid another restaurant meal and eat in privacy. There is a Sprout's Farmers Market on Hwy 620 at I-35 which has a terrific selection of fresh and prepared food and a lot of items in small containers at very good prices. There are also many restaurants and take away food places in the area. For an extended stay I would consider bringing in a couple of pictures from home, a cheap throw, and maybe a plant to personalize the space. Whether for one night or a month this will be my hotel of choice in the Round Rock area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us in Round Rock. I remember speaking with you at the front desk when you were checking-out about the many amenities we have to offer for guests needing reservations for extended periods of time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had all the comforts of home you needed. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring back to this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not sure what was going on here really. Not the best for business travel. They allow pets here and the pets bring pets of their own sometimes. I had a hard time finding my room as someone kept burning dinner down the hall ... it was smoky. The room itself wasn't very comfortable. I never felt clean. Also, the bed was shot - it took two weeks to fix my back. This was a memorable stay but for all the wrong reasons.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki P, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Round Rock, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites in Round Rock. We appreciate all comments, good or bad, and use them to improve our service and product. As a hotel geared toward long-term stays, many of our guests are away from home for such long periods of time. Most extended-stay hotels are required to allow pets that are are properly vaccinated and cared for by their owner. As hoteliers, we feel that it is important for our guests and their pets to be together in their home away from home. We do provide exhaust fans in every guest room over stove tops. It is possible in this particular instance that your neighboring guest did not show consideration for our other guests. I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have suffered while in our hotel. I hope that you will give us another chance at serving you in a more efficient manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Round Rock

Address: 521 South IH35, Round Rock, TX 78664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Round Rock 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.At the Candlewood Suites Austin Round Rock Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. We are located on IH 35, near Dell Computers and close to restaurants, attractions and shopping centers. Downtown Austin, Austin City Limits, Southwestern University and the University of Texas are all within a 20 minute drive of the hotel. The Dell Diamond with Round Rock Express baseball is 5 minutes away. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of Round Rock Hospital, and less than 5 miles from the new Round Rock Premium Outlet center. All guest rooms in the hotel feature full kitchens and one queen size bed. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel offers complimentary laundry facilities, a full fitness center, business desk in the lobby with Internet and both wired and wireless high speed Internet connections in guest rooms. The Candlewood Suites Round Rock hotel is pet friendly. A non-refundable pet fee of $75 to $150 is required along with a signed pet agreement at check-in. Documentation specifying that all vaccinations are up to date must be available. Call hotel for a copy of the full pet policy.The maximum number of guests (including children) allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Candlewood Round Rock
Round Rock Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.