We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food Indian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tarka Indian Kitchen

Tarka Indian Kitchen
201 University Oaks, #580, Round Rock, TX 78665
512-246-1922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 319 Restaurants in Round Rock
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Tarka serves fresh, fast & flavorful Indian cuisine, freshly whipped lasssis & select wine & beer. Dine in, take out or have it delivered via Dine on Demand. We offer online & mobile ordering and have our very own iPhone ordering app. City of Austin recognized Green Restaurant.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fast food Indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After reading these reviews I guess I am an Indian food elitist or maybe most have not had the real thing. I ordered Chicken Korma which I always enjoy, but I had no idea what they served me but I only took two tastes and that was enough. Tasted like it was a watered down powder or something. My wife liked hers and I don't remember what it was for the life of me.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wow, Indian food prepared and served by non-Indians!!! Pricing is outrageous for a self-serve outlet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stonecreek339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food - but I prefer a buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am no expert when it comes to Indian food. I like several different dishes, but like to sample many in order to learn about new ones. Therefore, I like to go to Indian restaurants that offer a buffet so that I can sample several things rather then just ordering the Tandoori chicken. If you know what you want and you only want one thing, then the food here is good and reasonably priced. But there are other Indian restaurants nearby that offer a buffet a lunch and you can get so much more variety.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for a pre- or post-shopping meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Conveniently located to the outlet mall in Round Rock, I love how this place indicates on the menu which items are gluten-free, nut-free, vegetarian, etc. Great value, quick, and healthier than your average moderately-priced, faster food restaurant. I recommend the coconut curry with paneer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TAskewTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast & Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I highly recommend this simple, industrial style place for healthy, meat free dishes. The food is filling, and delicious, and the prices are reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChaskaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarka Indian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Tarka Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing