We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Nice, but lacking polish.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2370 Chisholm Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“New, Nice, but lacking polish.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed at this location while traveling on business. This hotel has a lot of potential but there are a few things that are less than stellar for such a new hotel.

My GPS had trouble finding the location, but did eventually get me there. The hotel is in a quiet area, a bit off the freeway so no noise. The hotel is very new...it appears to only have been opened very recently. The lobby is very welcoming, modern, and well laid out. On the first floor is a restaurant area and bar. There is one computer in the business center for guest use, (it looks like there used to be a second one) but oddly enough you have to print to the front desk, what a pain, and not what I would call a business center. There is a small indoor swimming pool and hot tub. For a brand new hotel, they have a small but nice gym but with the basic cardio equipment. (one elliptical, two treadmills, a bike, and a weight set)

The staff was friendly and efficient on check-in. There is no free continental breakfast as this is a Holiday Inn, not a Holiday Inn express. This is a new build, new generation Holiday Inn. Very nice change for a brand that was getting tired. The hotel is a giant step up for the brand. (And now a step above the Holiday Inn Express.)

The room was spotless, smelled fresh, warmly decorated, and had nice pillows both soft and firm. Unfortunately, the bed was short sheeted on one side and the foot, and the mattress seemed cheap compared to other similar hotels. My room was a King room a small work desk and chair / ottoman. Nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds, big bathrooms, closet doors. The curtains in the room are horrible about blocking out the light. Also though there was not any noise from outside, the amount of hall noise, slamming doors, and sound from nearby rooms was excessive. The bathroom relatively large bathroom and plenty of counter space. The blow dryer was weak, I cant believe I need to write this...as a guy with short hair I have never written this before, but the dryer was so weak! They should have spent a buck more per room!

You had to move the desk to watch TV from the work desk so for a business traveler it was not perfect but was workable. There is free Wi-Fi hotel wide. My room had a small fridge, microwave, and comfortable climate control system. Unfortunately you could not leave the blower motor on for the climate control while having the heat or air on, so no white noise! There was no traffic noise.

I did not try the restaurant or bar. (though they offered a breakfast buffet for $5.95, seems fair) There are a few dining options in easy walking distance, a pharmacy nearby, and literally endless dining options in a short driving distance. I was welcomed as a Priority Club platinum member with a free drink from either the convenience nook, or the bar.

All in all, while they put a good shine on the hotel, there are some things lacking that make me want to go back to other choices in the area. I think the review that said the hotel is glossy on the outside, but cheap on the inside kind of sums it up. They just seem to have "cut corners" on the quality of some things. Hopefully they can make some upgrades, though I don’t know that there is anything they can do about the noise levels and climate control issues. Other things like the curtains and hair dryers, bed linens, and possibly beds could be addressed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
45
16
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My Mom and I were traveling to celebrate my cousin's wedding. They reserved a block of rooms in advance at a discounted rate. We stayed three nights in a double room with two queen beds. The hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating. We didn't have any special needs, but when I asked for an extra coffee pod, the agent offered more if I needed. We enjoyed the space in the room and the mini fridge and microwave were nice to have. The decor is very simple and elegant. Housekeeping was excellent. The salt water pool and hot tub were very relaxing and well maintained. The fitness center was small, but adequate for a quick work out. We didn't eat in the restaurant or bar, which are very small. The bar has restrictions on where you can take beverages in the lobby, which upset some of the wedding party. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and if you have a car, plenty of other options nearby, such at premium outlets and an IKEA. We bought a few groceries at a health food store nearby. There's also a CVS next door. It was only 25 min. to drive into Austin. This was one of the best hotel experiences we've had in awhile. That's saying alot, since we stayed on Disney property this summer and it didn't come close to the service we had at this hotel. We appreciated January who worked at the front desk and was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ok, it's been a long time since I've stayed in a holiday inn, priceline booked it and I was nervous: feared it for nothing! New and modern. Customer service was excellent, rooms great, pool and whirlpool small but nice. A restaurant and bar in the lobby with a nice sitting area too. Enjoyed the stay and central location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here for one night and agree with the positive reviews. The staff was very friendly, and I got a room at the end of the hallway as requested.

If you're coming off I-35 on to Old Settler's Rd, the hotel is a RIGHT turn on Chisholm Trail Road. My GPS told me to turn left. That's because there's a Holiday Inn Express there, and some GPS systems have not been updated.

There is a store and a pharmacy near the hotel as well as restaurants and an outlet mall nearby. The microwave in the room came in handy, as I decided to go to the supermarket and grab dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for just one night but it was a pleasant stay. The room we had was huge!!!! Overall the hotel looks new and nice. We liked the free wi-fi in the room and in the lobby. The bed was comfortable and we had a good sleep. Round rock outlets are pretty close so, this is a good place to stay if going shopping or is just a 15 minutes ride to Austin.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We recently stayed here for a trip to the Softball Nationals. Cannot say enough about the friendly staff here. Special thanks to Jason.Vicki,Ruth and Melissa. Such nice and friendly staff!! Excellent place to stay. This Hotel is very accomadating and the staff truly goes out of their way to see that your every need is fullfilled!! Very friendly clean Hotel that I would highly recommend!! We will definatley be back!!! Thanks for an awesome visit!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Everything here is the cheapest quality you can find. None of the exercise equipment is in good working order. Off brand exercise machines, cheaper pillows, doors, thin walls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock

Address: 2370 Chisholm Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn–Austin/N. Round Rock is the newest and most modern, “full-service” hotel in the North Austin area. Conveniently located off I-35 and a short drive from downtown Austin, our beautiful 100% non-smoking hotel is within walking distance to a variety of dining options and just minutes from the Texas State Capital, UT, Austin-Bergstrom International Airport, Dell Diamond, Dell Headquarters, IBM, Lake Travis & Premium Outlet Center, as well as a variety of shopping destinations, entertainment and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin North-Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.