We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Rock Donuts

Round Rock Donuts
106 W Liberty St, Round Rock, TX 78664
(512) 255-3629
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

On our visit to Round Rock where my son will soon relocate, a local recommended we stop by and try a donut. We did and just the smell alone makes your mouth water. We resisted the urge to buy a dozen. If we had, they would not have lasted a mile! Very light and fabulous glaze and so fresh! I am jealous of my son who will be so near to a great bakery! Can't wait to visit him and sample another variety!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    76
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Famous Round Rock (Orange Colored) Doughnuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The doughnuts are orange in color, but have no orange flavoring at the old Lone Star Bakery in Round Rock now know has Round Rock Doughnuts. The rumor is that the batter is so rich with eggs that it gives it the orange color. Many think that the there is food coloring added in support of the University of Texas in neighboring Austin, but this is not true. The bakery has been in open for 87 years and the original bakery burned down a few years ago. The rebuilt version provides the best glazed doughnut found anywhere and a very efficient system of satisfying their customers with quick service. An order of the dozen doughnuts set us back a measly $5.99 and were still warm from the kitchen. Forget the calories and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Donut ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'm not a donut person but I was visiting friends and they decided we needed to have a Round Rock Donut. Wow the best ever. Parking is difficult because so many people want their donuts but they do have a drive through. Won't tell you how many I ate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BEST DONUTS EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

THE BEST donuts in the world. The donuts MELT in your mouth. So delicious and don't leave you feeling bloated! The glaze is decadent. The donuts are such a fun color too! Such a gem in Round Rock. A MUST to visit, even coming from a resident!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

They are on the travel channel a lot for a reason. They truly do make some of the best donuts around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round Rock Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Round Rock Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Rock Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.