We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ out there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
2400 N IH-35, Round Rock, TX 78681
512-244-2936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best BBQ out there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love Rudy's St Lous ribs and iced tea, soooo good! Rudy's is always our first choice when we just passing through. Quick and great food! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    57
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rudy's provides consistently good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have lived in Austin nearly 20 years. We really enjoy BBQ but since we've had to cut back on meat for health reasons, we pick and choose carefully. The only 2 places we will have BBQ in Austin are Rudy's and County Line. Rudy's is more convenient, and having had their BBQ in 3 locations, I can say they have mastered the art of consistency in BBQ. We've been to the Round Rock, 620, and 183 Rudy's and all are excellent. I am wild about the sausage links, and lean brisket while my wife prefers the moist brisket. The cole slaw is very good (although not as good as County Line, which is the BEST!) but the buttered potatoes are to die for at Rudy's. We really love the atmosphere, so rustic and friendly, you cant not make friends there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not bad but had better Rudy's in other locations. Food quality was good but seating and location not great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Who would have thought delicious bar-b-que at a gas station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Rudy's is a great treat! The moist brisket is so good. The sauce is tastey and unique. My son gave this sauce as a hostess gift for a wedding shower and everyone was thrilled. Breakfast tacos are not your ordinary tacos. The spicy meat is a great addition to any taco. All of the barbque meats are moist and delicious and the sides are great. Casual dining adds to the meal...you sit family style at long tables with paper squares for plates. This is a place you will go again and again. This property is especially clean and very friendly staff. Easy access from the Interstate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Some of the best BBQ in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Most people who travel through Texas or better yet, live there, know about Rudy's. These red gas station with big smokers in the back have some of the best bbq available in Texas. Extra Moist brisket is our favorite. However, they have excellent smoked turkey, ribs, and sausage. Their cream corn is the best I've ever had and their beans are exceptional. Decent banana pudding available in the cooler just before you reach the order desk. Enjoy, y'all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.