We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudy's provides consistently good BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
2400 N IH-35, Round Rock, TX 78681
512-244-2936
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 297 restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rudy's provides consistently good BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have lived in Austin nearly 20 years. We really enjoy BBQ but since we've had to cut back on meat for health reasons, we pick and choose carefully. The only 2 places we will have BBQ in Austin are Rudy's and County Line. Rudy's is more convenient, and having had their BBQ in 3 locations, I can say they have mastered the art of consistency in BBQ. We've been to the Round Rock, 620, and 183 Rudy's and all are excellent. I am wild about the sausage links, and lean brisket while my wife prefers the moist brisket. The cole slaw is very good (although not as good as County Line, which is the BEST!) but the buttered potatoes are to die for at Rudy's. We really love the atmosphere, so rustic and friendly, you cant not make friends there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    76
    42
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not bad but had better Rudy's in other locations. Food quality was good but seating and location not great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Who would have thought delicious bar-b-que at a gas station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Rudy's is a great treat! The moist brisket is so good. The sauce is tastey and unique. My son gave this sauce as a hostess gift for a wedding shower and everyone was thrilled. Breakfast tacos are not your ordinary tacos. The spicy meat is a great addition to any taco. All of the barbque meats are moist and delicious and the sides are great. Casual dining adds to the meal...you sit family style at long tables with paper squares for plates. This is a place you will go again and again. This property is especially clean and very friendly staff. Easy access from the Interstate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Picnic tables make up the furniture in this restaurant. People line up to make their order. When the cashier found out we were on our first visit, she offered us free samples of several items. When she found out we were Canadian, she told their Canadian employee, who came over to talk to us. Talk out friendly! We took baby back ribs and smoke turkey, with sides of beans and cole slaw. The restaurant gives butcher paper to use as plates. We ate with plastic cutlery. "Napkin" dispensers are available at several locations in the restaurant. There was a large bottle of the restaurant's own Bar-B-Q sauce, which was delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“There's a reason why they won the Malcom Baldridge award for customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Rudy's is one of the best in the Rudy's chain...except for this unit is own and operated by K&N management. They are not a corporate store....so much better than that!

First lets start with the outside, the parking lots and common areas are clean and well manicured. When you enter in the door the front area employees greet you and welcome you in. When ordering the process is fast and seamless. Your order comes out quickly and fresh. The sweet tea is mm mm good! The brisket is 2nd to none. But don't forget the breakfast tacos. This place runs like a fine tuned sports car...the reason is the manager - Jerry and his staff of dedicated, hard working employees...ill be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Round Rock, TX

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.