We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
3350 E Palm Valley Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78665-3905
512-386-1044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is about 20 minutes away from Austin but well worth the drive. Great BBQ and experience. They have a good pecan pie too. We got right in and right out. We will be going back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    133
    76
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Meat is amazing; sides and service not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The meat was delicious--we had the signature pork ribs, the sausage, the turkey, and the brisket. The ribs were by far the best--so juicy and flavorful! I'd highly recommend them. However, the sides (beans, potato salad, and something else I can't even remember)--were not good. Pretty flavorless. Also, the service was sub-par. We had to wait about 10 minutes for our drink order to be taken, then an additional 10 for our food order, then another 10 minutes to get our bread (which is served at the beginning of every meal). We were STARVING by the time our food came. It wasn't even at peak hours--9pm on a Wednesday. This is what I recommend if you go--order the meat only (on the back of the menu you can order meat by the 1/2 pound, 3/4 pound, and 1 pound) and just eat the free bread for a side. Seriously, the other sides aren't worth it. Also, go before you're extremely hungry, or you will expire by the time the food comes. Despite these negatives, however, the amazingly delicious meat makes it worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Hype-Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was recommended during our week long stay. Maybe it was just a bad day for the restaurant during this experience. We had a party of 20 and our wait for food was too long and the restaurant was not busy(after 3 before 5)at all during our visit. The food itself was ok about average compared to bbq eaten at other places, the group expectations was a let down after being told of how good the food was to be, but unfortunately on this experience of bbq at this location it was disappointing. As for the service it was about average, and even though on the food it might seem like alot on the plate the quality of it was lacking. Consensus was from the combo plate to the sandwiches, and family platter was the sides and sauce were lacking and meat was dry. Expected more quality of meat for the price. Was not expecting anything like Franklin's in Austin but definitely something a little less based on the hype.Probably could have chosen other establishments more conveniently located to hotel that would have met group expectations. Just one travelers opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good little bbq joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

You need to go to this place.
Great experience.
Out of the way but worth it.
Had a combo plate that was great.
Sides were less than expected.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great food, service, and atmosphere. The food just kept coming and they were able to take care of our big group. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lick BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.