We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
3350 E Palm Valley Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78665-3905
512-386-1044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 275 Restaurants in Round Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everyone has a particular taste and preference for BBQ, so I'm sure Salt Lick won't be everyone's favorite, but they are undeniably good. It's meat, not pork BBQ. I found the brisket to be good, the burnt ends to be quite good, and the ribs to be great as well. Sausage, sauces and sides were tasty as well. Service was friendly. It was crowded, and I've heard it can take over an hour to be seated on really busy days, but if you are in the area, I would definitely recommend stopping by. Cash only, which is silly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    150
    84
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top BBQ in the country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Salt Lick (BBQ) is arguably the best BBQ in Texas. Nestled just south of Austin city limits in the heartland of Texas the Salt Lick estate is a welcoming site. No matter when you arrive the general wait time is an hour, luckily there are tables under the trees with live music and fresh lemonade and popcorn to those to wait. The BBQ is cooked over an open pit and rubbed and braised all over with their special BBQ sauce. Plates include their Texas version of potato salad, coleslaw and beans, but not how you have ever tasted them before. The Salt Lick has become a famous part of the Texas countryside and with its popularity they keep growing. They have added The Salt Lick Cellars with the addition of wine grapes on the acreage and keeping up with the Texas Wine Country very close to them. So if you like BBQ and are in the Austin area, it's well worth the beautiful drive into the countryside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This food was soooo good you'll dream about it. Sides aren't that great but you aren't going for the sides you are going for the meat. The cooks will let you tack a pic in front of the huge pit if you ask nicely

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Kansas, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Melt in your mouth brisket; Perfectly smoked turkey. I wasn't overly fond of the baked beans but I am not a bean lover.
You have to try the cobbler. Even if you have to get it to go it is amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ Texas Has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Whenever I travel through central Texas, I always make it a point to stop in Round Rock just to visit the Salt Lick. I saw it for the first time on television (Man vs. Food I believe) and thought it looked awesome...About a year later I just happened to be driving through and decided to stop there on a whim. This is probably the best whim I have ever had! The service is great...The portions are generous...and most importantly, THE FOOD IS PHENOMENAL! You would be doing yourself a disservice NOT to stop in!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lick BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.