We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best BBQ Texas Has to Offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lick BBQ

Salt Lick BBQ
3350 E Palm Valley Blvd, Round Rock, TX 78665-3905
512-386-1044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 298 Restaurants in Round Rock
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best BBQ Texas Has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Whenever I travel through central Texas, I always make it a point to stop in Round Rock just to visit the Salt Lick. I saw it for the first time on television (Man vs. Food I believe) and thought it looked awesome...About a year later I just happened to be driving through and decided to stop there on a whim. This is probably the best whim I have ever had! The service is great...The portions are generous...and most importantly, THE FOOD IS PHENOMENAL! You would be doing yourself a disservice NOT to stop in!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    133
    76
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meaty salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I know people come for the meat, but the salad is just as tasty. I added brisket to mine with ranch. Yummy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

my fiance and i go here often. it's fun and the bbq is excellent. always busy though, so be prepared to either BYOB or head over to the wine area (they also sell beer here now) and chill out while waiting to be seated.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiance' is an avid bbq guy and he loves to cook out. Very seldom does he think anyone else's bbq compares to his. But he absolutely loved this place. The people were so friendly and made us feel so at home. The pork ribs were so tender they almost fell off the bone. I can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good But Did Not Live Up To The Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was fine, but after hearing all the great reviews about this place I was a bit disappointed. The service was wonderful and the food arrived quickly. The location, close to the local minor league baseball teams stadium makes it a convenient stop prior to the game. I would eat here again, I just would not go out of my way to do it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Lick BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salt Lick BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lick BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.