We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a fan of Marriott but this hotel disappointed me. It was updated to the new lobby decor but there were many things that truly disappointed me. We know that SXSW Music Festival was on, though we were not there for that, but the room cost was ridiculous for what it provided. The first room we had was terrible, the TV didn't work, the toilet didn't work and the Internet service would kick me off every few minutes and then I would have to sign-in again and again. We were moved when we complained. The second room was better but the Internet service was the same. I had to go down to the lobby to answer my emails and do online research. The beds seemed to be shorted sheeted. The sheets a blankets only cam up to the middle of my chest and when we pulled them out on the bottom to cover ourselves our feet would stick out. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to the new Holiday Inn Express just behind the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Bob B,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We are always trying to improve on our service and looking for areas to improve, and your feedback is very important to that process.

I will be looking into the issue that you had with your sheets. I will let you know that we have upgraded our internet bandwidth recently, which should improve any issues that you had with the internet if you decide to stay again. Problems with televisions and toilets are rare, but do occur from time to time and usually resolved quickly with a call to the front desk.

I can certainly understand your frustration during your stay with us. We would like the opportunity to earn your business and show you that we can do better on your next trip to Round Rock. If you are traveling through the area again, please email me at brent.hageman@marriott.com. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Brent Hageman
AGM Courtyard Round Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    11
    12
    2
See reviews for
13
11
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We found everything fully adequate at this hotel. It is in an good location, adjacent to I-35. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance, which can be a good thing for those who do not want to get back into a car and fight the traffic on the interstate. The room was fine, and the staff were professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear WestTexastraveller,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I will pass on the kinds words that you wrote about our staff. It is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you on your next trip through Round Rock, Texas!

Sincerely,

Brent Hageman
AGM Courtyard Round Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The day before my checkout I arrived back at my room to find all of my belongings missing. I immediately called the front desk freaking out. They proceeded to tell me that I had extended my stay and that they had no rooms available. Aka; kicking me out. I told them I had reservations through the next day. The manager argued with me saying no you don't. I hung up the phone walked to the front desk with my confirmation number and departing date. Reluctantly she said I could stay but she never apologized and never admitted that she was wrong. Personally, I think CYM overbooked the rooms that night to accommodate schools that were there participating in the state high school basketball championship. I was in a room with double beds. I think managements thinking was that it was easier to kick me out than argue with some basketball coach. I am just thankful I had my confirmation number or they would have definitely kicked me out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Cowboys 112,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Feedback like yours is very important to our efforts to continually improve our service to our guests.

I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with our hotel. What you experienced should not have happened. We have taken steps to ensure that our future guests do not have the same thing happen during their stay.

Please email me at brent.hageman@marriott.com if you are in the Round Rock area again. We would love another chance to earn your business. Thanks again for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I was scheduled to stay four nights and checked out after one night because the beds were so hard I could not sleep. The room was in need of a remodel also. The room looked like it had not been updated in 10 years. I would not stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our room was spacious & clean when arrived. The hotel was helpful with any questions we had. Our friends however, their room hadn't been cleaned upon checking in. Also, a hold was put on their debit card for incidentals (but this happens if you use a debit card). The BREAKFAST was what made this hotel worth the stay. Great selection for a small free breakfast!

Room Tip: nothing specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Despite a recently remodeled lobby this property is tired and I'd suggest looking at alternatives in the area. The rooms are small with bathrooms the size of a VW beetle and the beds are as tired as you are after a day of selling to you clients. The only saving grace arethe front desk staff that are professional and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Boston Traveler99,

Thank you so much for writing us a review. We do appreciate each and everyone. We did just complete a brand new lobby renovation which offers: the Bistro, full bar, and a starbucks. I do hope you had the opportunity to enjoy one of them.

I am sorry you felt our rooms were tired. I do hope that you found them clean and relaxing. We do certainly appreciate your comment acknowleding the service our staff gives.

Sincerely,
Angie Gollihare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

As a frequent business traveler, I found the Courtyard in Round Rock to be not only an Excellent value, but also a most pleasant experience. The Front Desk Staff was extremely friendly and professional, and got my stay off to an outstanding beginning. The room was clean and comfortable, and I experienced excellent service in the Bistro during my visit. I would totally recommend this property, and fully intend to stay again during my next business trip to the Round Rock area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Bob M,

Thank you so much for your review. You are truly one of our "Most Treasured" guests. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to ever improve your stay.

Sincerely,
Angie Gollihare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock

Address: 2700 Hoppe Trail, Round Rock, TX 78681
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Round Rock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Round Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Courtyard Austin Round Rock, a modern choice for business and leisure guests. Our state-of-the-art lobby features comfortable spaces to work or relax and free Wi-Fi. We also surpass other hotels in Round Rock, TX with unique amenities like our lobby GoBoard™, providing up-to-date news, weather and airport information. Need to refuel? Stop in to The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™ Our Bistro features a full bar open in the evenings, and a Starbucks available 24 hours a day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Austin Round Rock Hotel Round Rock
Courtyard Round Rock
Round Rock Marriott
Round Rock Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Austin Round Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.