We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a Special Occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oar House

Oar House
306 I-30 E, Rockwall, TX 75087
972.771.9687
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 155 Restaurants in Rockwall
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Oar House is a much loved Rockwall classic. It is not a chain restaurant nor is it very large. The Manager greets you personally, then you're quickly seated at a comfortable table. The menu is primarily high end selections and the Chef knows his business as the food is some of the best I've eaten. The service is exceptional but do not expect a lightning fast meal. You go there to dine not to inhale! On the weekends a pianist entertains at the dinner hour. One caution: on a hot summer Texas night, DO NOT sit in the glassed in area at the front. It gets very hot and the A/C can't compete with all that glass. Ask for a table in the back or dine out doors. Either way, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Upscale Menu/Upscale Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great for that special occasion that needs a quiet and refined environment with an over the top culinary experience. Gotta love the Oar House - perfect for smaller receptions and there is even a small and intimate outdoor section to make the event even more memorable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Valentine's Day meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My first time here, as a friend recommended The Oar House. I thoroughly enjoyed the Red Snapper special. A nice combination of flavors. I enjoyed the atmosphere but my wife commented that the place didn't know whether it wanted to be a nice restaurant or a bar, as the bar was more full than the restaurant. I enjoyed this nice change of pace for us, and will probably return at some point, for some other special occasion.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“NICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Love the food and ambience...nice for cocktails, business dinner or special occasions....or just if you are hungry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in the Greater Dallas area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been eating at the Oar House for at least 25 years. We travel extensively and eat well when we travel. I cannot imagine a better place to have a drop dead delicious steak than their Filet with Cognac Sauce or the Filet with Peppercorn Sauce.

For some reason the vodka martinis taste better there than anywhere else.

When in the Dallas area, we would recommend the Oar House over any other restaurant in the area

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oar House also viewed

 

Been to Oar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.