We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll try it again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fatted Calf

The Fatted Calf
112 E. Rusk St, Rockwall, TX
972-722-3343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 155 Restaurants in Rockwall
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We'll try it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Local favorite for many, and the menu is creative~ I'm not a restaurant complainer, BUT, on our last visit, we had to ask for
-silverware
-coffee refill
-water refill
-aujus for a French Dip sandwich (and she looked at me like that was an odd request)
-waited forever for the check

I just want this place to be fabulous, because we need great restaurants in our area- but this was not a great visit. Prices are a little high for service not to match. Giving a very good rating just because I know they can be

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    24
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Saturday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The biscuit sliders and the the Alamo were both good breakfast choices. We finished with the pecan sticky roll and it was delicious. We will definitely go back to try dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best waffle I've put in my mouth, ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had the omelet and I had the waffle with ham. She loved the strawberry preserves and ate some of my ham bc it was so good. We both agreed that Jarron was a great waiter. I had the best breakfast date with my LTG, Holly Elizabeth.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love the atmosphere! I had the Taylor Pork Roll while my friend ordered the waffles. Good but the waffles were cold . Coffee was very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“old town old school food .. dont get much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

be wanting to try it and finally did .. we will go back , true potato fries among good eats in everything we tried.... serve was good .. so what else you need ... just a little pricey but it was good --- i paid a lot for a crappy steak at another rockwall houbor eatry last week .. wont happen here i dont think ...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fatted Calf also viewed

 

Been to The Fatted Calf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fatted Calf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.