We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Cocina

Mi Cocina
971 E. Interstate 30, Rockwall, TX
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 155 Restaurants in Rockwall
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the finest ingredients available. You'll love our Tex-Mex menu from our famous, homemade salsa to our mouthwatering, hand-dipped enchiladas. You can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm, friendly and professional staff. It's our honor to serve you!
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Mi Cocina where everything we offer is hand-crafted and made fresh daily using authentic Mexican cooking techniques and the finest ingredients available. You'll love our Tex-Mex menu from our famous, homemade salsa to our mouthwatering, hand-dipped enchiladas. You can taste the freshness and quality in every bite. Relax in our comfortable stylish surroundings with one of our legendary Mambo Taxis® served by our family of warm, friendly and professional staff. It's our honor to serve you!
Rowlett, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overcharged”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were charged for 4 Mixed drinks at $8 each that we had already purchased at the bar & had to argue with the waiter about it. Waited 10 minutes for them to figure out we were right. We ordered food the service was pretty good & the food was ok. Once again we had issues with the charges, 4 glasses of wine at $12 per glass, we actually ordered a different type of wine that should have been $7 per glass. We waited another 10 minutes before we could leave for them to figure out we were correct again. This was likely our last trip to this location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced, under tasted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

$12-15 per plate is way too expensive when the fast food joint across the highway offers better tasting food for under five bucks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmersville, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Rockwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A different spin on typical Tex Mex but I enjoy the ambiance! Its a really nice, classy place and the service is always really wonderful. Chips and salsa..and queso are all great and anything with brisket is really good too! It's not your "hole in the wall, authentic" Mexican cuisine if that's what you're looking for. It is a nice, clean, upscale take on a Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Who Calls This TexMex?!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My hubby and I and a few different friends have eaten here a few different times and I do not think I will go back. The service is pretty friendly, but not very efficient. The music is fun with a Mexican theme, but too loud for a good conversation at the table. The chips and salsa are good in my opinion. My husband liked the beef enchiladas and the fried beans, but said the rice was dry and tasteless. My crispy beef taco was pretty good once I added the lettuce, tomatoes, onions and cheese that comes on the side. My beef enchilada had tough meat in it and was gross. The cheese sauce on the cheese enchilada has a weird metallic taste. Do not waste your time here.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not even tex mex”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

More like New York Mex. if you re looking for Tex mex there are plenty more places to eat. Disliked the food

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Cocina also viewed

 
Rockwall, TX
 

Been to Mi Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.