We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hunt's Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunt's Castle Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S Water Street, Rockport, TX 78382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Rockport
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family had a great time. The rooms could be in better shape and the cleaning staff is rude, but the location and fishing pier make up for that. We had a great time fishing and the owner is super nice. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    36
    20
    23
    53
See reviews for
148
61
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The room was very clean, staff was very friendly. Great location.
I would book and stay again. Great fishing pier, pool,walk out the door and you are feet away from the waves. This was our second time to stay here and it is because of the location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great easy to find location, friendly service, comfortable beds, nice swimming pool, quiet not to noisy, furnished with a refrigerator, microwave, ceiling fan, etc. The check in is quick and simple, the pier is in great condition been fishing on it a few times good catches usually. A beach is located right across the street. It was a nice experience and a good competitive price. I have stayed in many hotels with travels and competitions this was one of the better ones that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were meeting another couple in Rockport who had booked this hotel. We reserved a room with a water view. We were upgraded when we arrived to a large "suite" on the first floor. The view of the sunrise both mornings was great. But neither the bedroom with a king or queen bed Nor the main room with a double bed, couch, table, easy chair had light that was adequate for reading. There were two coffee cups in the cupboard that had not been washed since they were used last. The coffee in the front office was not available before 8 and there were no donuts either day we were there. The carpet and the furniture could really stand a steam cleaning. The elevator was marginal and apparently was being worked on. The stairs definitely need some repair work. While it is possible to get a room for $69 there, we paid more. For what we paid I would stay elsewhere next time (unless I determined that the owners had replaced carpeting and improved their cleaning).

Room Tip: Suites cost more but have the extra room. Take reading light. Ask for a water view. Definitely lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I chose this hotel for my first night in Rockport from reviews at TripAdvisor. I made advance reservations and requested a third floor room, as they are usually quieter. Check-in was fast and payment was requested in advance. The hotel is across the street from the beach and includes a long private pier. Exterior room entrances. My "efficiency" room was located in the back of the hotel and was a reasonable size, with a queen bed and a bunk bed set into the wall. The bed was rather firm and lumpy, but I slept OK until a thunderstorm woke me at 4:30. The Kitchen area included a sink, with coffee maker and an old microwave on the counter. The cabinets held a few dishes, but no coffee cups or coffee. The large refrigerator was filthy on top and was dirty and rusty on the outside. Other furnishings included bedside table with no lamp and a fairly comfortable platform rocker. A small round table with two chairs held the flat screen TV. The tile floor was chipped in places and not as clean as it could have been, judging from my white socks. Internet appeared to be available but I did not try it. Bathroom had shower and toilet, but I decided not to use the shower. Maybe it was just my room, but I was disappointed. Walking around the hotel, the rooms on the bayside looked nicer and the rocking chairs on the front walkways would be a nice place to sit and watch the bay. Although it was half the cost of the upscale hotels in the area, unless you are on a tight budget or really want to be "on the beach", I recommend spending more elsewhere and getting a lot more.

Room Tip: Rooms on bay side have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've stayed at Hunt's Castle twice.The rooms are clean, and well furnished with ceiling fans, refrigerators etc. There are doughnuts and coffee every morning. The staff is friendly. The private fishing pier is great. Rockport is a great little town with excellent restaurants.
This is not the fanciest hotel in the world, but the value for money is unmatched.

Room Tip: The bay facing rooms are not much more expensive, but the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A great view and value, with easy access to the heart of Rockport! I appreciated how their friendly phone service carried over to our stay. The staff was caring, making us feel like one of the family!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms (with a view) give an even better view of the bay; however, 1st floor rooms make for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Address: 725 S Water Street, Rockport, TX 78382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt`s Castle Hotel Rockport
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.