We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing at Hunt's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hunt's Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Hunt's Castle Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S Water Street, Rockport, TX 78382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holiday Savings
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rockport
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Fishing at Hunt's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Took advantage of Hunt's special stay two nights get third free. Had a great time fishing their pier which was lit up with green lights, Caught soome nice trout and reds. Really enjoyed my stay people are friendly and rooms are nice. Hotel is close to downtown area and Rockport Beach park. Heading back Thanksgiving week for some more fishing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    39
    20
    25
    60
See reviews for
156
63
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I,my wife,two of my grand daughters and a friend visiting with us ,from all the way from Harvington,England,,we were all "Over the Moon",with great respect for the management and comfort of Hunt's Castle. Ken,Malinie and Charlie were our very respectful host and management,who made us all feel right at home. The water views from our room were very beautiful of the Aransas bay. The colorful sunrise over the bay,greeted us, early Sunday morning. The fishing pier was nice and long,,even ,just for an evening walk out over the water,,very peaceful. We had no complaints at Hunt's Castle,for we were all smiles,with the nice people, who own and see to it .that their guests are made to feel,all the peace and comfort of Hunt's Castle and the Beautiful City of Rockport,Texas. We will return,again and again because of the very peaceful stay at Hunt's Castle,,,sincerely Arthur W. Sarkis

Room Tip: Of course,water front rooms are the nicest views,,,the water view rooms are good,,and the second and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Management has taken the lights off of the south facing side of the pier where most of the bench seats are located, and the side where the best fishing used to be. The fish cleaning station is non operative, as the hand water pump has been removed; although it is evident that some have cleaned their fish on the table leaving behind a dried up layer of fish parts and scales for the flies to live on. Bring your own light source as well in order to rig your gear and to remove fish you have caught, as there are no lights illuminating the pier or T-head. The hotel is really a glorified motel with very, very little service. They leave clean towels and empty the trash cans but that is about it. We did get an upgrade but the phone did not work and it took 4 days to get a light over the sink with no cover. My son and his wife had another room which had no night stands in their bedroom, and had to place their bed side things and alarm clock on the floor next to the bed. Their room also had a shattered window facing the water front view with duct tape holding it in place; this was not just a crack, but a large 'star-burst' extending the entire length and width of the window. They also advertise free wireless internet, but you can not get a signal on the third floor, management told my son that some guests can get a signal, but there is NO signal.

Room Tip: Excellent fishing location. Could be an excellent fishing pier..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After looking at many hotels trying to find the best deal Hunt's castle was definetly the best place to stay it has a very reasonable place and the hotel is great it has everything you need and its in a great location, not to mention that the owner is a great guy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baird, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we got there late at night and are room was ready for us the owner of the place is great he called and checked on us to see if we where on ok since it was taking us a while to get there the bed was so comfortable after being on the road for a long time i love the improvements that are being done on the deck and i told him that i would sure be back and next time with all my family enjoyed the pool and the hot tub i will for sure come back again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is not fancy, but its comfortable, is priced very reasonably and has really good amenities. The fishing pier is great. It has waterfront picnic tables with BBQ pits, a nice pool and a large hot tub. Good location too. We're staying again in two weeks since we had such a good time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Great place Will go back and stay longer the owner r very nice this trip was a short one we the renovation on the deck get done it will be better next time I hope to be able to take all my family and go fishing

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunt's Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunt's Castle Hotel

Address: 725 S Water Street, Rockport, TX 78382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hunt's Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have one of the longest piers in Rockport lit up with green lights. We also have music on Friday and Saturday. A newly added boardwalk in front with BBQ pits. Paddleboat rentals and kayaks A swimming pool and a hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hunt's Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunt`s Castle Hotel Rockport
Hunts Castle Rockport
Hunts Castle Hotel Rockport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.