We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria Puerto Vallarta

Taqueria Puerto Vallarta
3002 Highway 35 N, Rockport, TX 78382-5713
361-790-7221
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 84 Restaurants in Rockport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were looking for a new place to try in Rockport and stopped in here. It looks like it is going to be great Mexican food, at a good price - it's a hole in the wall. :) $50 later - before tip - we had lunch for 2 adults and 3 kids = 3 enchiladas w rice, 2 fried shrimp, 4 chicken fajita tacos and a side of guacamole. no alcohol. Way too pricy for a hole in the wall if you ask me. However, the food was really good. From other reviews, looks like breakfast may be a better deal. Service was okay, nothing really to note either way. They did change the tv station from CSI to Dora for my little girl though, so that was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We usually get our taco fix here. Kind of a big hole in wall. Always crowded but service, though not best, is fast and food comes hot and fast as well. May try another taco place just to compare. I read reviews for a couple other places that got decent review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lousy breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I are looking for new restaurants to try. The parking lot was crowded so we stopped for breakfast. What a disappointment. The tortillas were the only good thing. Eggs were dry, potatoes; bland and orange juice presented in a Tropicana bottle. The waitress never returned to ask if we wanted more coffee. The other Mexican restaurant down the street, Arandas is much better so we'll stick to that one as our breakfast "go to".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great food at a great price in a nice little hole-in-the-wall. Try the cheese enchiladas, carne guisada, and very acceptable chicken fried steak. Killer. Good tacos and decent guacamole. The salsa is a bit tame, but they have great fresh jalapenos. I haven't had a bad meal in this place. I eat at this place about every other day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm missing something . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We tried this place for breakfast after reading many of the reviews on TripAdvisor and I have to say we were both quite disappointed with the food. Huevos rancheros was served with no sauce - I had to ask for it and it was bland when brought out. The potatoes were terrible. Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing - but I won't be going back. Sorry!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Puerto Vallarta also viewed

 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Taqueria Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.