We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Little Bay Cafe

JJ's Little Bay Cafe
302 Texas 35 Business, Rockport, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Rockport
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fulton, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Typical diner breakfast but it was served by a friendly and attentive waitress. The only flaw was the noise! The place was packed and we could hardly hear ourselves over the din of clattering plates and too close other tables. We'll go back but maybe not on a busy Sunday morning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have eaten breakfast there several times and it wad great. Had lunch on Sunday and I ordered a club sandwich. It was not up to par at all. Onion rings were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Old-timey, "Howdy, neighbor" Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had breakfast twice here during our stay in Rockport. Don't let either the outside or the inside fool you (I don't know what it was in its past life). The decor is simple and so's the food, but after sampling it one morning, we asked to go back the following morning. Each of our party of four got what we ordered, cooked the way we wanted it, and the pancakes were fantastic. They also have REAL BUTTER!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We never noticed this restaurant before but I'm glad I searched on Tripadvisor for a breakfast place. My "Gary's Omlet" was great and my husband had a different one which he thought was great also. Tasty hash browns also. We sat outside on the patio. We'll definitely be back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Local Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited JJ's Café based on the reviews of Tripadvisor and because we prefer to dine in smaller, local places when traveling. They are not open for dinner during the week so we went for a late lunch. It's nothing fancy but often local places are not. The restaurant was about half-full and I guess they assumed we were locals because we had to figure out for ourselves that you seated yourself. We ordered and waited close to 45 minutes and still no food. Others who came in after us, ate and left. Finally, our waitress came and asked what we had ordered and said there had been a mistake (our food came out less than 10 minutes later). We ordered the chicken fried steak and a hamburger. My husband said the CFS was average but I didn't enjoy the hamburger at all. The cokes come in a 20 oz. bottle, which means no refill of course. Which might have been okay if we didn't have to wait almost an hour for our food. We had to go find our waitress in order to get our ticket and pay. Because of the "mistake", my husband was given a side serving of corn for free. We would not return based on the quality of food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Little Bay Cafe also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JJ's Little Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Little Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.