We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twilight zone motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Sun Tan Motel

Magic Sun Tan Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Magic Sun Tan Motel to your Saves list
Magic Sun Tan Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1805 Broadway Street, Rockport, TX TX 78382   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Twilight zone motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Worst place to even consider
You are better off staying in your car!!
Walked in there was roaches and silverfish
Furniture and appliances looked from the 1970's
My stay lasted 5 min and was horrified.
Demanded a refund with no problem
Attendant seemed clueless as to why I wanted a refund but gave no trouble providing one this place should be condemned

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our first time staying at Magic Sun Tan Motel. The staff was very friendly and were willing to assist anytime. The water front view from our view was awesome. The view of bay is awesome along with plenty of space for my kids to spread out in the room. The management and employees were so nice, and treated us like their family. The hotel room are older, but they are clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First of all this is not current there is no bbq pits,no wifi and no clean rooms. all they did was make the bed with the same old sheets. During my stay there was so many problems and issues where to start is hard. But the rooms are nasty not clean the restroom was unsanitary. The bed sheets and blankets where used not washed or changed with clean ones they had pubic hair all over them. The office people or owners are rude would not give me any new ones or even toilet paper.
I had to go buy sheets and blankets cleaner and disinfectant spray. My kids got sick and this ruined my vacation. I WILL STRONGLY ADVISE FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO STAY HERE TO THINK TWICE BUT IF YOU DO TAKE A BUNCH OF CLEANER ROACH KILLER AND BED SHEETS BLANKETS MOP AND BUCKET DON'T FORGET AIR FRESHENER . YOU ARE GOING TO NEED IT

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was at the Magic Sun Tan In June 2013, paid 257.00 for two nights.. The beds were box springs, no mattress. I went to office to be told that I could not have another room and they did not have any other mattress.. They would not refund my money. There was also roaches in my room and it was dirty. There is no internet service and no place to bar b q.. Do NOT waste your money staying there! You will be disappointed. Tina

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rockport hotels
2.3 mi away
Sportsman Manor Motel
Sportsman Manor Motel
#11 of 18 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
2.2 mi away
Hunt's Castle Hotel
Hunt's Castle Hotel
#9 of 18 in Rockport
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
1.0 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Sun Tan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Sun Tan Motel

Address: 1805 Broadway Street, Rockport, TX TX 78382
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Sun Tan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Magic Sun Tan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Sun Tan Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.