We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shempy's Grill

Shempy's Grill
3911 Highway 35 S, Rockport, TX
(361) 727-0019
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Rockport
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal. Our server, pat, did a great job. Our portions we big enough that you left stuffed or took home leftovers for another meal

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After hearing about Shempy's numerous times from our friends finally got to experience what they've been raving about. It's a quaint small place. They don't have a bar but you can bring your own and there's a liquor store conveniently next door. Shempys will provide set ups and wine glasses if you choose to bring your own wine!! The menu is fairly extensive and it was hard to choose. I happen to like soft shell crab so I try to order whenever I see them on a menu. They were excellent and they will either grill or fry them!! Also had shrimp chowder which was excellent. Everyone in our party was pleased with their selections. Shempy even came over to greet our table and make sure everything was allright. He is quite a character and told us he took the name Shempy because he loved the 3 stooges!! I mus say this was some of the best seafood Ive had in awhile and wish this place was in Corpus!! Will most certainly go back!! The service was great and the value was awesome!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic fried seafood and super burgers. Good people. Usually crowded so plan your meal accordingly. They are supposed to have great steaks as well, but I have never tried one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Finally, someone understands how to cook fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a great spot .. I agree with the 'Rockport Treasure' reviewer. We were in a large group, and had been fishing that day. Brought in our own fish, and it was cooked with great care. They also had good side dishes, wonderful friendly service, Bring in your own beer/wine (or just stop at the package store right next door). Everything was wonderful, and they could not have been more accommodating. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Rockport treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Wanting to cruise to dinner, We got in our classic cars and drove to Shempy's from Corpus Christi for an outstanding dinner. The drive takes us about 45-60 min depending how hungry you feel.
We enjoyed Redfish / Wahoo / Maha Mahi / Soft shell Crabs / Fried Popcorn Shrimp and amazing.shrimp chowder.
Set ups are provided - bring your own bottle , beer, or wine or buy it from the liquor store next door.
The restaurant ambiance is fun and the food is well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shempy's Grill also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shempy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shempy's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.