We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic charm on the Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay to your Saves list
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Fulton Beach Road, Rockport, TX 78382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
starting at $109
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Rockport
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Scenic charm on the Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Lighthouse Inn, and were happy with our selection as it was one of the few waterfront hotels, and walking distance to restaurants in Fulton. We appreciated the elegant lobby and hallways, and expansive views. The rooms were dated, but comfortable, with balconies. It included two beds, desk, and a comfortable chair. The refrigerator and microwave would make in perfect for a long stay. The bathroom was large, and the towels were plentiful. Ours overlooked the pool, and parking lot, but it was still pleasant to sit outside in the evening and watch the sun set. The pool was large, sheltered, well cared for, and attractive but the lounge chairs were dingy. The property did have an air of faded glory, but we appreciated the uniqueness. There was plenty of food for breakfast, but it was exactly the same every day, so became a bit repetitive. We are not sure we would come back to the Rockport area, but do think the Lighthouse was a much better option than the other chain hotels on a busy highway away from the water. We would definitely chose it again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for writing this wonderful review about your stay. I am very pleased that you did choose to stay with us as there are many other properties to stay in the area. We are the only hotel right on Aransas Bay and away from the highway. We will be replacing suite sofas and recliners as well as some of the furniture in the Palm room itself. I do hope that will come back to Rockport-Fulton and enjoy another few days in with us.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    173
    61
    31
    14
See reviews for
161
286
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Lighthouse is one of our favorite places to visit. Our idea of an ideal "beach trip" is a private balcony overlooking the bay, where we can sip our morning coffee or evening refreshment and enjoy the view and seagulls, and just relax. The hot buffet breakfast is always good, and also provides an unobstructed view of the water. The only thing preventing me from giving a perfect rating would be the lack of a few "5 star" amenities, such as a full-length mirror somewhere in the room (or any mirror other than in the bathroom) and/or a magnifiying mirror in the bath, etc. (for us near-sighted folk trying to shave or put on makeup). Those are very minor inconveniences, though, and I would rather do without them than see the price increase to provide them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay. I appreciate your comments about the mirrors. This year we are replacing suite sofas and recliners as well as continuing our routine preventative maintenance of the property. I will definitely put mirrors on our capital plan list for the future and see if we can work them into the budget. We do hope to see you back in Rockport soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A good power washing would go a long way to improving this place. Staff was nice. Room adequate but dated. Really short of chairs on the bulkhead and pier...ie 3 chairs on the pier, 4 on the waters edge... Breakfast was on a par with Comfort Inn..some of it almost warm! View was great
Would I return...probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay. I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. I have reviewed your comments with the entire staff to see where we can make improvements. We take great pride in providing quality service and product. Your input will help us do that for future guests. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Oklahoma
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always enjoy our stays at the Lighthouse Inn. Sitting on our bay front balcony watching the sun rise and listening to the sound of the gulls flying by is truly one of life's little pleasures! During this stay, we also had the awesome experience of watching the "blood moon" lunar eclipse from our balcony. The staff, like always, was very accommodating. The breakfast buffet was good and an evening meal we had in the Palm Room was very enjoyable. Every time we have stayed here in the past, everything in the rooms seemed perfect and in excellent condition. . This time, we noticed a few things that were in need of repairs. The pretty wall paper in the bathroom was starting to peel in places and the ceiling above the tub appeared to have had water damage, possibly from a leak from the room above. The wall behind the kitchen table was covered with marks and scars and in need of a paint job. The living room furniture and the mattress on the bed seemed to be getting a little worn out....not at all in the perfect condition that we have found them on previous visits. Still, the location and service at this hotel will always bring us back, as there is probably no other place in the area that could provide as pretty a setting or as helpful a staff.

Room Tip: A bay front room is always the best idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this candid review about your most recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you had the chance to enjoy the “Blood Moon”. Thank you for sharing the sunrise picture. During the month of May we will be replacing all of the suite sleeper sofas and recliners. We will also be replacing bathroom wallpaper in a significant number of guest rooms. I can’t wait for you to return and see the improvements. We ALL hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I only stayed one night but everyone was so friendly and helpful (especially the bartender and I wished I could remember her name) and we loved our room. We are definitely staying here again for our future visits to Rockport!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that your had an enjoyable visit and that the bar staff took care of your needs. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights this April and had a fantastic experience. The hotel is located on the bay, providing gorgeous views and a tropical feel - each night we sat out on our balcony, watching the palm trees sway over the water. Coming from the east, where there was still snow on the ground, the setting was perfect!

The hotel itself has a warm, boutique feel. Much more character than a run of the mill big chain hotel. The staff was helpful, giving us ideas on what to do and where to go in order for us to maximize our time in the area. The restaurant was great for dinners, and the buffet offered in the mornings was greatly appreciated. My wife loved the waffle station, and there were plenty of hot menu items to choose from. My only small complaint was that the eggs were almost ice cold on both days. Otherwise, the buffet was good.

Our room was a bayside king suite, including kitchen, balcony, and separate spaces for living room and bedroom. There was tons of space, and the room was very clean. It is definitely worth it to book a room overlooking the water.

Overall, we loved our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return in the future - thanks Lighthouse Inn!

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the water if you can - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your recent stay. We are all very pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit to the hotel, Rockport and the Texas Gulf Coast. We will work on keeping the eggs hot for the entire breakfast period. We all look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were a bit worried when we got there as the front desk (Ms. Nita) could not find our reservations. We showed her our confirmation and all our emails from Mr. Brian (the manager) and were quickly found. Ms. Nita gave us the third floor bay view we asked for and was very accommodating. She also greeted us anytime we came in or went out - very friendly. She knew much about the town and gave us resturant recommendations that were great. Our room was a bit worn but the view and waking up to the sound if the bay was worth it. We suspect it is probably a constant fight against the sea water which is so damaging to structures. Overall the view and the friendly staff (even housekeeping staff greeted us and asked how our stay was when they saw us in the hallways) were certainly worth it and we plan on coming back with the kids and getting the two connecting rooms. They will love seeing the shrimp boats come in and out of the harbor with all the seagulls hounding them!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your stay with us. I must apologize for the mix up with your reservation but I am pleased that Nita handled it properly and got you into the room you had reserved. During the month of May we will be replacing the suite sleeper sofas and recliners. We will also be making some changes to the Palm Room Restaurant area. We are all looking forward to your next trip when you can bring the entire family.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 South Fulton Beach Road, Rockport, TX 78382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.