We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Fulton Beach Road, Rockport, TX 78382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Rockport
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We would like to provide you with feedback regarding our recent stay at the Lighthouse Inn On Oct 25-27, 2013. We had stayed at the Lighthouse Inn in 2009 and remember it as a charming hotel and decided to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary there this year.

We were given room 47 at check in. Upon entering the room, we both noticed a musty smell that seemed to be masked with a chemically smell as well. We also found the closet not in working order. We told this to the front desk staff who politely reassigned us to room 27. While this room did not have the musty or chemical smells, we still found the room to not meet our expectations. The room was dingy and needed a fresh coat of paint. Paint was peeling off in several areas including the ceiling of the shower. The were rust stains around the toilet. The furniture was old and appeared to us to not have been cleaned in several years. There was an unpleasant odor to the upholstered couch.

We feel it is important that you receive this feedback. Because the Lighthouse Inn is one of, if not the most expensive hotel in Rockport, and we had one of the most expensive rooms at the Inn in, we had higher expectations that were not met. I hope you consider correcting these problems to regain our future business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at the Lighthouse Inn. I too am disappointed that we did meet your expectations. This is the time of year that we go into all of our rooms and paint and repair as needed. It is a process that takes some time but the items you pointed out and more have been corrected in the rooms you mentioned. We are also in the process of purchasing new sleeper sofas for our suite and recliners for our rooms. Although our existing furniture is “shampooed” cleaned at least once per year, we have determined that it is in need of replacement. Thank you again for your candid comments. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to earn back your business.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    158
    59
    30
    13
See reviews for
147
265
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you reserve a stay with an offer of $25 Palm Harbor restaurant voucher at the Lighthouse Inn just be aware that they automatically add 15% when you use the voucher, whether you dine in or take it to go. At first we were told by Michelle there was a 15% surcharge just for using the vouchers.....period. Very matter of fact without much diplomacy or tact. No mention that it was an automatic tip and no one at the front desk seemed to know either. It wasn't until later we were told it was for the tip. It was explained to us that many people who use the vouchers don't tip, and it's understandable that for service in the restaurant you should tip accordingly. I did have a problem with being charged an automatic tip for take out food and the Manager, Bill Olsen deducted it from our bill. Just be aware since there is no mention of this in any of their specials using vouchers, other than a statement that "gratuities are not included". What they don't say is it is automatically added everytime you use your voucher. Our vouchers stated nothing about the automatic tip, however we were told it is stated on some. They probably need to note this in the "fine print" upfront so travelers aren't taken by surprise when you get there. Other than that we love this hotel, it's location and view.

Room Tip: Bay view first floor. You can just walk out your back door to sit by the ocean. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay. I must apologize again for the confusion with the Palm Room Bar and Grill food vouchers. After our discussion about the vouchers we have changed the wording on the voucher to read “15% Gratuity added to all checks”. This is in bold letters leaving no question as to our policy. I do hope you enjoyed your food and stay at the hotel. We hope you will take advantage of one of our Travel Zoo promotions again in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I don't typically take the time to write reviews, but I felt compelled to write one for the Lighthouse Inn. I would highly recommend it. It's a great location and feels like a boutique property although it's a medium-sized hotel. The interior is well decorated with lots of vintage photographs of the area, which adds to the unique feel. My only complaint is that a couple of spots in our room were showing humidity damage -- rusty air vents, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, water stains on the faucets. But this is a minor complaint and definitely wouldn't stop me from staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dan, thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and liked the unique feel we have. We are now in the process of going thru all of our rooms and replacing the older rusting a/c vents with new aluminum vents. We are also painting the rooms and repairing the seams on the wallpaper. Housekeeping will take care of shining the faucets. It is a process we go thru every fall after the busy summer season is over. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to your return visits.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibolo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I live in San Antonio, Texas and decided to take a few days away to the coast to Rockport. We chose the Lighthouse Inn on recommendations from friends and we were not disappointed. Our first room had some issues so we voiced our concerns to the front desk and we were immediately given another room which was wonderful. We found the front desk staff helpful and friendly as was the rest of the staff. We had dinner two nights at the hotel and found the food to be quite nice and average priced. The staff made sure that we were pleased with our meals and if there was anything else they could do for us. The morning buffet style breakfast is great with plenty of choices from eggs to waffles with plenty of everything - a great way to start the day. Our room was clean and the beds comfortable. We had a bay view room which is a plus to watch the sunset and sunrise from the balcony from your room. In all a great relaxing stay and we will return again in the future. This will remain one of our favorite places to stay in Rockport.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms right on the bay-lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about your first stay with us. We realize there are many hotels to choose from in this area. I am so pleased that you listened to your friend recommendations and chose our hotel. The entire hotel staff appreciates your comments about their providing the high level of service. That is very important to all of us. We ALL look forward to your next trip to Rockport when you need another relaxing getaway.
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I visited the Inn with my brother and sister in law who live in Texas and this is one of their favourite hotels. We stayed for 3 nights then went on a trip by ourselves to West Texas. We were supposed to travel around there for 5 nights. After our second night we cancelled our plans and drove 8 hours to go back. Completely worth the journey. Just love it there. Highly recommend. If you fish you will spend all day having a good chill. If you love to chill you will love the pool and hot tub. If you like to make your own waffles in the shape of Texas this is definitely the place for you. Local restaurants do the best fish - fish tacos now a favourite!

Room Tip: Speak to Nita
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about both visits that you made to our hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and spend a few minutes chatting about your travels around Texas. I was so pleased to hear that we are worth the 8 hour drive. Everyone at the hotel hopes that you will visit us again the next time you come to the states.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay. We had a view of the gulf which was lovely. It was very clean and well kept. I would definitely stay here again. The front desk had helpful young ladies and one grumpy old man.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I will review your comments with the entire front desk staff. We need to have them all proving the same high level of customer service. We look forward to your return visit!
Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When we checked in and entered our room, there was a strong odor of pesticides. We went back down to the front desk and they offered to move our room. We went to our new room and the odor was not as strong. The next morning we found a cock roach in the bathroom. When I reported it to the front desk, she replied that the rain drives them in. She never apologized or offered to make it right. For 170.00 a night, don't spend the money. We found the staff at the desk less than friendly, the rooms are small, there is a smell and the cock roaches are the topper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian O, General Manager at Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to give us your candid comments about your recent stay. I must apologies the cockroaches in your room and for the lack of concern on the part of the front desk staff. That is unacceptable and I am reviewing this with the entire staff. We had quite a lot of rain this month after a very long drought. We do know that when it rains like that, we can get some cockroaches in the hotel. To counter that we have a professional exterminator spray to keep them to a minimum. Even with that effort they can occasionally come into room. For this we are sorry.

Sincerely,
Brian Olsen
General Manager
The Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay

Address: 200 South Fulton Beach Road, Rockport, TX 78382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn is the perfect choice for a vacation on the Texas coastal bay, with full-service accommodations in the beautiful Aransas Bay. Relax and enjoy a laid back Texas getaway with luxurious guest accommodations and amenities and our friendly staff. Positioned at the entrance of Fulton Harbor with a magnificent view of Aransas Bay, enjoy modern amenities, shoreline access and our excellent location close to local attractions and things to do in the Texas Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Inn At Aransas Bay Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel Rockport
Lighthouse Hotel At Aransas Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.