We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant

JD's Seafood Restaurant
100 Cove Harbor South, Rockport, TX 78382
+1 361-729-1202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 83 Restaurants in Rockport
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Healthy, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The food was okay but not worth the price charged. Next time we will go to the one down the road at City By The Sea.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    19
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found JD's when he first opened and have watched with great delight the growth of his marvelous restaurant business. We have never had a dish that wasn't the absolute best ever. My two favorite dishes are the crab stuffed flounder and the lobster ravioli. Both are simply out of this world. His latest appetizer is lobster egg rolls, which is fabulous. The waitresses are always very friendly and efficient. The waitresses have eaten the food served there, so they are very knowledgeable about the food and can personally vouch for its flavor. Usually a restaurant excels in one type of food, but there is nothing on JD's menu that isn't the best. Don't pass up the homemade chips. They are addicting. It's BYOB if you prefer alcohol with your meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I had the most amazing experience at JD's the service was the best I have had in a long time. Our waitress was awesome and knowledgable about everything on the menu, even being 9mths pregnant she was prompt with refills and the food was quickly delivered and a party in your mouth. I will definitely come back and telling everyone I know to check it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We tried to eat at JD's one other time but there was a long wait as it was a holiday weekend. We went back this past Saturday night and I'm glad we did. No wait this time. Service was good and prompt. The pecan crusted snapper was fabulous! Great green beans with bacon, also. We meet JD and he was a likable, personable guy. It's also BYOB (they put our wine in a bucket of ice for us). We will definitely be back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best most unique seafood ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food was So good I think I'll name my fourth child "JD". The owner has a serious passion for his work and the waitress/manageress was excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JD's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JD's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.