We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best most unique seafood ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JD's Seafood Restaurant

JD's Seafood Restaurant
100 Cove Harbor South, Rockport, TX 78382
+1 361-729-1202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 86 Restaurants in Rockport
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Hamburgers, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Description: JD himself is the chef in this locally owned and operated restaurant serving up local fresh seafood, authentic Philly cheesesteaks, Mediterraean salads, Blackened Redfish Ponchatrain with Crawfish Etouffee, chicken fried steaks including fried cheesecake and deep fried bananas.....Come see us!
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best most unique seafood ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The food was So good I think I'll name my fourth child "JD". The owner has a serious passion for his work and the waitress/manageress was excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    20
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devine, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Somewhat better this time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We used to be regulars at this place, but quit at the beginning of summer due to terrible, terrible service. Gave it a try again last night and was somewhat better. It still took 50 minutes to get our food, but they did serve the grand kids first so we didn't have hungry kids acting up! JD is out of the kitchen and watching things more closely which is like it was in the first place. Still could cut the serving time down by 20 minutes! I had the Shrimp Fiesta which was good but pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, funky setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ok, this is NOT the place to go if you want ambience. It will deliver, though, if you want large portions & very good food. We tried the fish tacos - 2 huge ones so either split with a friend or take home one for another meal. The fish was well cooked & the whole thing hot & tasty. We also tried a burger - a bit pricey $8+ - but again, so large that it could have been split. ALL components of it were excellent. The only negative with regards to food were the homemade tater chips that came with the burger - not hot, not crisp, & somewhat greasy. Others have told me they were great, so maybe ask if they're fresh before ordering. Oh... and just ignore the cheesy decor in the trailer building setting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time and JD's. The food is so GOOD! The only problem is waiting to get the food. It took nearly 2 hrs to get our food. I had the lobster ravioli and my husband had the fried flounder and it was all really good. The waitress was really sweet talked to us kept our glasses full. I really hope that they expand their kitchen or get more people to help in the kitchen because its really good food but the wait is so long that I don't know that my husband and I will be back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was horrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The wait to get our food was very long. The food was very bad. We will not be back. I do not recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JD's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to JD's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JD's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.