We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Travel Professional's Thoughts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   902 E. Cornwall St., Rockport, TX 78382-2727   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Rockport B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“A Travel Professional's Thoughts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was at Angel Rose to find a special place for my favorite, fussy, well-traveled, upscale clients who are looking for a unique experience. I think I found it!!! Angel Rose is like visiting your private antique shop combined with a great overnight stay and a live wealth of information host!!
In addition to that, this host can cook,too! Breakfast was great and the company was even better! Definitely not your Holiday Inn Breakfast . There are 4 bedrooms ,several sitting areas and the house would be perfect for several couples traveling together. The birdwatching in Rockport is special as is the town itself.

Room Tip: know what is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you, Yes there are a few antiques here, some have even made it to the Antique Roadshow. We hope we will always live up to the standard that allows you to refer us to folks you know and we try to feed you well, also. Come back and stay where you plant your feet on solid ground It feels good after a while on the water.
Regards,
Rusty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent two days here the week between Christmas and New Years. Our goal was to get a feel for the area with an eye towards retirement. The house is beautiful with many period and original pieces. Owners Rusty and Jennifer are very involved in the area so were most helpful with suggestions on where to go and what to do (and eat). They open the house to you and let you treat it as if it were your own. Breakfast was excellent with ample portions. Rusty has a large knowledge of the history of the area and the house which he will gladly share. Angel Rose is a very comfortable place to stay. Next trip to Rockport we will stay here.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room with the fireplace which was large and comfortable. It is to the right as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Rockport is the kind of place that makes it easy to spend more than a few days, but we understand if you can't stay long- this time. Rockport is a wonderful place to retire. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Angel Rose B&B for four nights. The house is lovely, warm and welcoming. Rusty and Jennifer were great hosts, doing everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We especially appreciated Rusty accommodating our early morning bird watching schedules and departures times. He went out of his way to provide us with great breakfast when we were on the road or at the house. Both he and Jennifer helped us find good restaurants and Rustry treated us to a historic introduction to the house. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank You very much for staying with us and just because you have an early birding trip, you still need something to eat on the boat ride to the Refuge. You might even believe Jennifer and I have been on Tommy's Skimmer when a veritable feast was laid out for all us with him those evenings. Those private parties in the bay are really fun and he does quite a few of them, for a fee. I think everyone who stays in an old house like ours would be interested in the history. Thanks again and glad you had a good time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I along with two friends stayed at the Angel Rose for 4 nights. Our stay was very pleasant. My wife and I had the first floor room which was very pleasant. Rusty is an excellent host and does a great breakfast. He was also very accommodating to our varying hours for breakfast (we were down primarily to bird watch). The B&B has three common areas for their guests that include 2 sitting areas and a TV room. All of the rooms are very nicely appointed with a variety of antiques. Rusty is very well-versed in the history of the area and will be happy to give you a brief introduction to Rockport and the history of the B&B.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank You for Staying with us while you enjoyed the world class birding in Rockport ! We try to help our guests to have a good time down here, it's really not that hard :) Rockport is really a hoppin place. We are literally steeped in history down here. It just depends upon how much you want to know about the founding of Texas. This is where the French and Spanish first established missions and settlements on this side of the Gulf of Mexico. Do cattle come to mind when you think of Texas, better think Rockport and look up the Coleman-Fulton Pasture Company. Perhaps art is what intrigues you. Did you know we are one of the recognized art cultural centers of Texas? Rockport is a surprising place. Thanks Again. Rusty & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavernia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Angel Rose B&B. We were not able to leave two teenager boys home alone and were limited on travel time. Our stay, the accomodations, hospitality, and close by attractions made our special night very enjoyable. We created many joyful memories at Angel Rose and will definitely go back. I love old houses and my husband loves history. The home was decorated beautifully with a Victorian theme. The breakfast was delicious. (not low calorie, but very much worth the indulgences)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Who counts the calories when your on vacation, I can swear that absolutely NONE of those calories count! At least not in my world. See, you can stay as long as you like, eat my breakfasts, and never gain one pound. Maybe a few, but not just one. But remember, you are on vacation. Come see us anytime.
Rusty and Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great stay in Rockport!
Rusty was an exceptional host, innkeeper, and storyteller. Hosts were very accommodating and helpful during our short stay. Thankful for their recommendations on local activities and making us feel at home. Bed downstairs was a little stiff, but overall experience was wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank You, we try to treat everyone as if they are our friends and not just as our guests. There is quite a lot of history surrounding this home, some of it involves some desperate times. The 1919 hurricane is a prime example, but none of the owners passed away in this home. Still, some say the spirit is Leopold Bracht, the first owner. Sorry the bed was hard, maybe you can come back and try the Select Comfort Sleep Number bed in the Violet room. You can dial anything between mushy soft to extra firm, and back again. All at the push of a button. Love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jennifer and rusty are great hosts. They want you to feel at home in their B&B and they tell you from the start. There is nothing like chatting with the locals to know what is going on somewhere, and they are very good at that.
Their home is like a trip in the past. The decor is full on 19th century and goes perfectly with the house. You can tell that Jennifer and rusty have enjoyed giving it this authenticity.
We were fishing, so we did not stay for breakfast, which looked like a major mistake, but Rusty packed some killer breakfast tacos for us to take on the boat.
Going out to dinner that night was walking distance. A very nice address to keep in Rockport!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty D, Owner at Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Well I'm not sure if the real locals would consider us locals just yet, but we've been here 5+ years and both of use have taken the leadership program. Jennifer is on the board of the Chamber and I am a city councilman. We try to make ourselves useful. Ok, so the fishing is great, but my formal breakfasts are at least a close second! What I made for you to take on the boat was just a snack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 902 E. Cornwall St., Rockport, TX 78382-2727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angel Rose Bed and Breakfast is a charming 1881 Victorian home located in Rockport Texas, The Charm of the Texas Coast. This Victorian Lady was remodeled and first opened as a bed and breakfast in 2001 by the Fisher family. It was subsequently purchased by Rusty and Jennifer Day to continue the tradition of warm hospitality and great food. We welcome you to rest, relax, and enjoy historic Rockport with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Rose Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.