We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Lady Claire Street, Rockport, TX 78382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Rockport
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location near the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this HIE to have a great location near the water. The staff was prompt with our check in. The lady working the breakfast room was so efficient and friendly. We needed maintenance and the problem was handled very quickly.
We had a king suite, which we found to be very spacious and comfortable.
I did find 2 cons with this HIE
1. The bathroom lighting was so poor that it was hard to apply makeup.
2. A male clerk, working at the check-in desk, talked with a toothpick hanging out of his mouth. Found that most unappealing.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
32
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

All the reviews are accurate. This hotel is spotless, wonderfully decorated, smells great, super nice employees who are there to assist. Much more than you would expect from a little coastal hotel but they really know what they're doing. Had the breakfast this morning and it was great! Lots of choices, everything fresh and tasted yum. Our only concern was the room felt a little humid but...it's on the coast, what do you expect? We asked for and received a view of the bay on the 3rd floor. The room had a nice little fridge and microwave. Everything spotlessly CLEAN. Very nice place! We highly recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stay at this each time we come to Rockport to visit family. This time we came to buy a home. The staff, from check-in to check-out, shift change to shift change treated us as if we were their family. They always had a smile and pleasant greeting as we came and went. They were able to answer all questions about the area, offered help as we looked for a good place to eat, and most importantly, treated us as if we were theit most important guests. When we asked about services in the area, they assisted us with suggestions. The hotel is extremely clean, the beds and linens comfortable, the breakfast substantial as well as delicious, the staff wonderful and the hotel is efficiently well-managed. General manager, Div Bhagat, is an outstanding manager as evidenced by the competency and happiness of her staff.

Room Tip: We have only stayed on the first floor which is quiet and easily accessible for older folks like us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirkpt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us was very memorable. I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We take great pride and joy running our hotel and we try our best to maintain a professional yet a home away from home feeling.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you back in Rockport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I attended a master naturalist seminar in Rockport over the past weekend, and most of the participants stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. So, I did too. I wasn't expecting much but found the best Holiday Inn Express I have experienced anywhere. Sparkling clean with a sense of newness everywhere. The breakfast buffet was far better than average; the rooms clean and comfortable, with excellent bedding and good lighting for reading. And, it was right across a small bay from one of the best family beaches in Texas - literally within a long walk of a good marine museum and the local aquarium as well. I doubt few persons actually go to Rockport for business (birding yes but business no) but this is a budget hotel worth emulating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Top floor is most quiet. No surprise there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvirkpt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful comments, we absolutely appreciate the time you have taken to do so. I'm glad that you found our hotel very satisfactory and that all needs were met. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of everything in the Rockport/ Fulton area, many attractions within walking distance. Love the decor and colors. The rooms come with micro and mini fridge, so you can bring wine/beer and snacks to your room to keep the party going.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkptx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is always nice to hear great feedback from our guests. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel was convenient for your plans. Look forward to your return to our hotel.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a two night stay to visit local birding locations. We were greeted promptly and our reservation was accurate. The staff was prepared for our check-in with key cards prepared for us already. We were directed to our room in a very clear manner. There was a luggage trolley available.
Our room was clean and neat. There was a very helpful "kitchen" counter with a sink and paper towels over the refrigerator and microwave. The refrigerator had a freezer which is a big plus in my book.
When we arrived back to the room after having been out all day the room had been cleaned but the coffee service had not been replenished. We went to the front desk to get more and were only able to get the coffee, the clerk didn't have cups or sugar/stirrer packets. Luckily we grabbed them from the breakfast area.
In the morning, very early, we were checking out and found the elevator was not working so we had to take all of our luggage etc. down the stairs. We informed the front desk clerk who made a phone call immediately to handle the situation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkptx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff. The staff is what makes our hotel and we take great pride in that. I believe you stayed in one of our suite rooms, glad to know you enjoyed the room. i sincerely apologize about not getting coffee and condiments the next morning, I have taken this matter up with our housekeeping dept and the front desk.
I appreciate you letting us know about the elevator, I apologize for the inconvenience you incurred. I do hope the you will visit out hotel soon.

Once again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Place is located blocks away from the water and close enough to get access to stores and restaurants. We booked a suite and it was huge. The kitchenette was perfect for storing our cold drinks and the counter area was big for us to fix food for the beach. Breakfast was great and plentiful, and the staff was extremely cordial and helpful. I have yet to visit an HIE that HASN'T had great service yet. Rockport is no exception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View

Address: 925 Lady Claire Street, Rockport, TX 78382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Rockport
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Rockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 TORCHBEARER AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN HOSPITALITY AND SERVICE. We are excited to share that Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG) has awarded the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bay View Rockport with the 2013 Torchbearer Award, it is the highest honor for exceptional quality and guest satisfaction. This prestigious hospitality award goes to the top 3% of all Holiday Inn Express hotels in North America, and is measured by overall guest satisfaction scores. Rockport Hotel's Guests Enjoy Home Away from Home. The Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel & Suites Rockport - Bay View stands out among Rockport hotels thanks to its convenient location and amenities. Boasting impressive views of Aransas Bay and easy access to local businesses and attractions, this hotel is perfect for your Rockport, TX trip. The hotel's business guests enjoy being near companies that include Pro Build, Kiewit, HEB and Air Logistics, as well as the Paws and Taws Convention Center in Fulton. Free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access makes it easy to stay in touch with clients, and the Business Center is open 24 hours.Leisure guests lodging in Rockport, TX enjoy an abundance of attractions and activities near the hotel. The historic Fulton Mansion provides a glimpse into the late 1800s, and the Texas Maritime Museum educates visitors about the state's rich history. Recreational activities are also popular, and Rockport Beach Park's Blue Wave Beach and Goose Island State Park make it easy to enjoy hiking, biking, picnicking and much more. Enjoy outstanding amenities while lodging in Rockport, TX, including the free Express Start Breakfast Bar and complimentary coffee and cookies in the lobby throughout the day. A 24-hour Fitness Center encourages you to maintain your workout routine, and the outdoor, heated pool is a great place to relax. This 100% smoke-free hotel is ready to welcome you to the Rockport - Fulton area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Rockport / Bay View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.