We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goose Island State Park

Goose Island State Park
Rockport, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Attractions in Rockport
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recommended bird sanctuary in Texas.
Tiki Island, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The old trees and wildlife were to wonderful for words in the eyes of a naturalist. I especially liked the bird feeders and watering area. The fishing piers are great for fabulous photos.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    21
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We love that you can camp by the water or in the wooded area. Each campsite has a "shelter" covered area with electricity and a picnic table. Clean bathrooms/showers are nearby. There are also hiking/biking trails. Don't forget to see the biggest oak tree in Texas onsite. There are also piers and boat launches.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Big Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Drive out to the edge of the park, and check out "the Big Tree". It's old. Really like, estimated over 1,000 years old. It was worth the drive in to the park. And the drive along Lamar Beach Rd is pretty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a nice park. Be sure to visit the Big Tree. Fishing access and boating ramp. RV spaces. Just bring Mosquito repellant for the night times.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
109 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Pelicans and beautiful sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Goose Island state park has two camping areas. My husband and I enjoyed camping on the beach with our 5th wheel trailer. There is camping under the live oak trees also. The fishing is not that good. The water is shallow for a long way out. There is a nice boardwalk to stroll. Many airboats and fishing boats launch at the park. We saw lots of pelicans and beautiful sunsets. During our stay, we also visited Aransas National wildlife refuse. That was very nice as well.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Island State Park also viewed

Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
Rockport, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goose Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose Island State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.