We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Courts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Courts to your Saves list
Rainbow Courts
915 Cameron Ave., Rockdale, TX 76567   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Mexia, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying one night at the Rainbow Courts and my only complaint was that I cold not stay longer. It was fabulous. The people were wonderful, the room was awesome and it was so peaceful. I enjoyed the entire experience immensely. My favorite part of the stay was the fact that they had a Keurig in the room and not only that but that had a wonderful assortment. This B&B is first class all the way, with a price that you can afford, which makes it that much more special! I will go to Rockdale just to visit the Rainbow Courts again!

Room Tip: Try to Carriage House it is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am so glad that you loved The Carriage House. It is one of my favorite rooms too. The building predates the business and acording the old Sanborn Fire Maps, was on the property in the 1880's. We had fun restoring the building and adding that Jacuzzi! We look forward to your next trip to Rockdale and hope that it is soon. It means so much to us that you had a wonderful experience at Rainbow Courts.
Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
32
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Like many on this site, I've been privileged to traveled wide and far. This was my second stay at the family-owned and operated Rainbow Courts and it remains a unique gem deep in the heart of Texas. The is helpful and friendly. The rooms are charming, clean outfitted with top line bath amenities. While I'm certain the national chain motels in Rockdale offer fine and familiar comfort, the Rainbow Courts is a uniquely local experience and not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the near future. Thank you for your review and kind words.
Joan Ratliff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Rainbow Courts Motel in Rockdale, TX is a cut above the average. The rooms are super clean, they actually have light bulbs that you can see to read with, the towels are soft and spotless. The rooms are clean, clean, clean. They are furnished with beautiful furniture and all the amenties are first class. No cheap coffee and styrofoam cups but real cups and saucers. Good TV, Free Internet and very friendly and gracious hosts in the Owners. It is worth staying there even if you have to go a little out of your way. You will be comparing all other Motels to this one from now on and none will come even close.

I run out of words to use to tell how very nice it is and very competively priced. You will not be dissapointed. .

Beverly E.
Hot Springs, AR

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your heartfelt review. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed Rainbow Courts. We look forward to your next stay. Safe travels.
Joan Ratliff, Owner Rainbow Courts Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just a few blocks off the North South Texas Highway # 77, about 60 miles south of Waco, TX, on Hwy # 79. It was recommended by Julie from Fulton Beach Bungalows of Fulton, TX. Pull into their quaint Office driveway and you will find just a little piece of paradise. For being the oldest operating Motel in TX you will be so happy you stopped to spend the night. Fabulous facilities that will beckon you to return on your next visit to the area. We were 110% satisfied and will certainly make it a MUST stop on our return to Texas, from the cold tundra in South Dakota, next year. This was our first year south to enjoy the warmer weather. It very well could become a habit and Rainbow Courts will also become a habit.

Room Tip: All their rooms are to die for. Excellent folks and facilities. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel for your lodging in Rockdale, TX. We look forward to your next stay and becoming your lodging"habit". Stay as warm as possible in the cold tundra of S. Dakota and in the meanwhile look forward to warmer climate in Texas. Safe Travels.
Joan Ratliff, Owner, Rainbow Courts Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the kind of motel you would see in old black and white movies, with one story rooms in a row, porch chairs outside the doors, huge old trees, a large lawn with wooden lawn chairs. Inside the rooms one finds antique furniture with very nice appointments--good pictures, lovely ceramic lamps-- not the normal motel decorations. But then there was a good mattress, coffee maker, fridge, cable tv, wifi, a fancy folded towel, upgraded bath fixtures, tree hugger shampoo, all the comforts of a large motel. My room was small, but still had a double bed, overstuffed chair, tv, table and desk chair--all for $59. They do have larger rooms and suites. To top it off, the motel is run by very nice people. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Rainbow Courts Motel. The business has been in my family since 1918 and as the new generation owner, this business provides a history "lesson" every day. We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests such as yourself. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I happened on this treasure and am so glad I did! A historic and interesting "motel" first established in 1918 and kept in the family. All necessary amenities and a special atmosphere. I will return as soon as I can and stay longer next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing Rainbow Courts Motel. We look forward to your next stay and hope you are able to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were pleasantly in aw of this beautiful, manicured property. The quant courtyard and landscaping is magical. When we entered our single king room we both were taken back. The description was spot on but failed to mention the Memory Form bed...heaven!! High end details down to the linens and soaps. I highly recommend staying at the Rainbow Court and will never stay anywhere else. What a trip back to the old days at staying in motels but with a modern high end touch. Well done!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitality1918, Owner at Rainbow Courts, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your complements. We are so fortunate to have the nicest customers. We look forward to your next stay and hope to see you soon. Our beds are heavenly! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Courts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Courts

Address: 915 Cameron Ave., Rockdale, TX 76567
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Rockdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rockdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rainbow Courts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Courts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.