We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou Jacks Cajun Grill

Bayou Jacks Cajun Grill
210 South Hwy. 377, Roanoke, TX
817-490-7800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Boyd, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The fried Catfish and Shrimp appeared to be out-of-the-box nothing I would go back for, and at 12.95 for 4 shrimp and 2 small fish pieces and fries it was somewhat overpriced. One those places that is forgettable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“No Atmosphere-Mediocre Food-Is it just me?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Based on glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and raves specifically on their "Dirty Balls" and "Shrimp Grits" we decided to try this place out early Saturday evening.

Going to New Orleans regularly for decades and dining at everything from the "mom and pop" hole in the wall places (which I tend to prefer) to the white tablecloth Commander Palaces of the Big Easy, I think I've experienced a good cross section of many types of Louisiana cuisine to be a fair judge.

Entering the restaurant I was surprised by the lack of atmosphere-basically a big open, high ceiling box space with stark orange painted walls with some framed small pics/posters. The waitress, Emily, was nice, and even though she said she had worked there for 2 months, had difficulty answering the most basic questions regarding drinks and menu specifics. We ordered the above mentioned items to split. The good news; it was more than enough food for both of us. The bad news;I would never order either again. While very rich and palatable - the Shrimp Grits overall just weren't that good. The Dirty Balls, 3, somewhat smaller than tennis balls were overwhelmingly more rice than anything else -and tasted like it. Very ho-hum.

If your wanting this type of food locally, overall Pappadeauxs does a much better job. Yes, you'll pay more, but they have the atmosphere and consistently decent food (much better than what we had tonight)-which offsets the money you might save by going to Bayou Jacks.

I'm baffled by so many great ratings.Maybe we were there on an off night, but we certainly didnt even come close to a "5 circle rating" that so many have given this place. Might try them again, but probably not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This small Cajun/seafood place is a treat. It has excellent specials, and
a small but very well executed menu. The tilapia Ponchartrain was fine (fish moist and sauce delicious), the French fries among the best we had ever eaten. Cole slaw with a bit of jalapeño was a slightly spicy revelation. All around, no pretense at all, just good food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authenic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I grew up in south Louisiana and really like this food and decor. I enjoyed the dinner, appetizers and desserts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Tasty!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good food and atmosphere. For starter, we ordered "dirty balls and the crab cakes." Both were outstanding. Will be ordering these again.

As an entree, we ordered the fried seafood sampler with a side of jambalaya and it was good. The osyters and clams could of been fried less for better taste. As for the jambalaya, it was really good. It had perfect creaminess and spiciness. Sweet tea was good. And service was alright.

The restaurant seemed so loud. It was busy and there is little to no room for waiting on a table.


I will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Jacks Cajun Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bayou Jacks Cajun Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou Jacks Cajun Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.