We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blown away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Hangar Cafe

Blue Hangar Cafe
700 Boeing Way, Northwest Regional Airport, Roanoke, TX 76262-5893
817 491 8283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Diner, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
Description: Small, family owned diner located on the taxi-way of the Northwest Regional Airport. Please note that the planes have the right-of-way as you enter the airport to get to the Cafe. Great food with a friendly, casual atmosphere. Come in for lunch and watch the planes land and take-off out front.HOURS: Mon - Fri 10:30am-2pm Sat 7am - 2pm (breakfast served 7a-11a) Sun closed
Restaurant details
Description: Small, family owned diner located on the taxi-way of the Northwest Regional Airport. Please note that the planes have the right-of-way as you enter the airport to get to the Cafe. Great food with a friendly, casual atmosphere. Come in for lunch and watch the planes land and take-off out front.HOURS: Mon - Fri 10:30am-2pm Sat 7am - 2pm (breakfast served 7a-11a) Sun closed
Roanoke, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

i seen this on the web looking for somewhere new to try , when there , doesn't look like much outside so, i didn't expect much, but ,just a bad meal, when i enter the blue hanger it is simple kinda like the gas station atmosphere, sat down it took awhile for the waitress to take our order, but she acknowledge us as soon as we walked in and than she took our order, I ordered the bleu cheese burger and my husband order just a cheeseburger it took a little time, so as we waited we looked at all the airplane things on the walls, when our burgers arrived , i was blow away , the burger had fresh bleu cheese of good quality and fresh portabella mushrooms grilled and fresh red onions the bread was a sweet bun toasted, i never expected that from this place , but it is truly a wonderful place not fancy , but the food it great , worth the trip, for my palate / i have taken my friends they and they said they will go back and bring their out of state friend to the blue hanger they are open for breakfast on saturday i think til 11 but , check the website out it had all info there, and in the summer or on a nice day u can eat outside and watch the private planes land and take off , pretty cool and there is a airplane graveyard and other plane you can go into , at times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small and out of the way but great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was visiting a friend in Roanoke and we were looking for some place close by but moderate priced. Searching the internet I came across this cafe and it had great ratings. So we tried it out. It deserves those great ratings. The people were friendly, the food was superb. The hamburgers are made with real meat, not pre-formed slabs of cardboard. The place was packed when we got there. It is a small place but if you have to wait for a table, the food will be worth the wait. Enjoy. They are only open for breakfast and lunch hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food & Unique Atmosphere if You Can Find It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like some others, we drove past the road and the signs directing to the airport and a smattering of businesses until one day we made it a point to check it out. We drove up and down the road past the airport until we looked across the runway and saw a BLUE HANGAR, duh! When you come down the road from Cross Timbers, take a left as soon as you get to the runway, cross over and you are there.
The owners, Brian & Tavia, are personable and provide a fun, down home cafe experience. We had breakfast, Saturday only, eggs, cakes, bacon, sausage and hash browns... all excellent. we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A neat little airport cafe with a twist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yeah, it might be a bit pricey and the setting is somewhat lowborw, but the staff is wonderful and where else can you go on a Saturday morning, eat breakfast outside while airplanes taxi right up to you to fuel up. Quite a variety of unusual small planes too for the aviation buff!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A true hidden treasure, off the beaten path & laid-back fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

To be honest, I have lived in the Roanoke area since 1992 and I did not know this airport (Northwest Regional) was even here, much less a very cool cafe on premises of the airport. I found it via TripAdvisor (wild, since it's only a few miles from me and I had to find it on TripAdvisor!) and we went Saturday. It was so good! The food is a fare of burgers, sandwiches, and the like and it is fresh, cooked to order, and very fairly priced. A constant flow of pilots of the hangared planes was in and out and you are so close to the flight line the refueling takes place right outside the door of the cafe and the taxi way and runway are just a few feet beyond. Sit on their patio area (shady in the morning) and enjoy the food and views! Ruth was our waitperson and was excellent. One of us had a cheeseburger, big and the old-fashioned kind and 'finger lickin' good', a steak sandwich of sauteed nice chunks of beef with a gravy-type sauce (my niece said it was the best ever), and I being a vegetarian, ordered a "Veggie sandwich". I was expected just a typical sandwich bread with lettuce, tomato, etc., but it was a delicious grilled dish on a kaiser roll. Extremely tasty. Can't wait to go back and see the nice folks who run the place and work there, as well as eat their great food. And, watch planes take off and land right out our door! Was told it was pet-friendly on the patio plus BYOB. Daniel

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Hangar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Hangar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Hangar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.