We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Name - Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiko Sushi & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sushiko Sushi & Grill
348 W Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75080
972-479-9494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New Name - Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to "Sushiko Sushi & Grill " recently for an exceptional sushi feast. This is the same location, phone number, et. as previously with Stone Horse. The menu is not radically different but the quality has improved. We loved the half price specials on rolls and made dinner into a feast! The group was well pleased with the majority of offerings - especially the Yummy Yummy Roll and the Yum Yum Roll. All sashimi was fresh. Service was very attentive w/o being hovering. Our sake was icy cold or steaming hot - depending on the person ordering.
One member of the table ordered the Korean Beef dish and we all tasted it. Delicious! Another had a Bento Box that was predictable but good. The sushi was clearly the reason to return. \
No real criticism. Restrooms were fresh, prices a little high but not unreasonable for quality. We will all return to Sushiko.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not Just Japanese fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has now reopened under a new name but the food is the same. It serves Kobe beef, sushi and other Japanese fare but also many Korean dishes. The service is just so-so and it is a bit pricey for my taste, but it does have a full bar and the sushi and sushi rolls are some of the best in North Texas.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This restaurant has changed it's name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stone Horse changed it's name and is not nearly as good as it was. We went there to have our old favorites but they were mediocre at best. I often use the volcano roll as a judge of the quality of the Japanese restaurant. To start off with, they served the volcano roll to our table with no plates or the bowls you need for soy sauce. The waiter just sat the plate down on the table and walked away. I had to get up from the table and go over to him and ask him for plates and bowls. He was pretty attentive after that, but not a good beginning. As for my volcano roll, 1.) it was delivered to our table in some kind of a weird aluminum foil thing that was supposed to look like a boat. It was REALLY cheesy and not well made. 2.) It appears they did this because they cannot get the volcano roll to support itself, which is a bad sign. 3.) I am certain that they used some kind of canned salmon or something in the volcano sauce. The sauce itself was not bad, but the whole thing was a big disappointment.

I also ordered the spicy crab roll and it was okay but way over-spiced and not very good. I finished it but but my wife found it inedible (and she is not particularly picky).

The actual sushi was not bad but not great. It was inartfully crafted, with large strips of the fish hanging off each end of the rice ball underneath. It tasted fresh enough, but was not of the quality that would stand out.

I take back my recommendation of this place as the best Sushi in Richardson.

Also,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great sushi, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The food was incredible! Service was great. Our drink glasses were never empty.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food, but not the best service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We went here almost as a joke because we couldn't believe this has stayed in business so long. This had been a cursed location before Stone horse. We would plan to go to the restaurants here and they would close before we got there.
Stone Horse has remained so we figured it must be good. We finally made it over here.
The service was a bit disjointed from the minute we walked in. There did not seem to be a clear host person. A couple of people looked at us and then walked away without saying anything. We laughed it off and got seated.
I ordered a beer and a water. It took a while to get the water and the beer was still not delivered by the time we got our food, which took a while. We were right next to the bar and I was really tempted to get up and get my beer there. All in all, the food was very food, but the service was slow.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiko Sushi & Grill also viewed

Richardson, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiko Sushi & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.