We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger and Beers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haystack Burgers & Barley

Haystack Burgers & Barley
100 S. Central Expressway #17, Richardson, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 322 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Burger and Beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Haystack is like many of the new burger joints popping up around town these days. What makes them different is not only do they have a good burger, they have other offerings for the non-burger types. My better half is not a burger person, so she was able to order a very tasty salad. Don't like burgers or salads, order chicken.....you see where I am going.

Don't miss the fries!!!! They are large square cut, lightly seasoned, and just plain awesome. The serving size is good enough for two people also. They got this right!!!!! If I have to pay for a side, make it a decent portion size!!!!

I do like the open and larger butcher block tables, and there is a nice sidewalk seating area. It has been open since April, and it looks like it just opened yesterday. It was clean inside, and someone was always cleaning while we were there.

There is a great selection of Taps, Bottles, and a few wine selections to satisfy those looking for sparkling beverages. The selection of beer offerings will keep most of the connoisseur's happy.

The only thing I have a problem with places like this are is that it is often cheaper to order a burger that is suppose to come with all the fixin's, leave off the stuff you don't like, and it is cheaper than a build your own burger.

They also could offer a lot more types of burgers than just 5-6.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Haystack burgers - a new burger place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a new addition to the Height Shopping Center and is next to the Alamo Drafthouse Theater.
It is a stand in line to place your order and then claim a place to sit type of place. They bring your food to you.
The burgers were really good, and the buns were so-so.
The staff is all young and full of energy.
It is not a big place, so it can get crowed fast.
Overall, a good burger place that I will go back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very fresh and juicy burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I would consider my husband and myself burger people. We LOVE going out for a good burger. We decided to try this restaurant since it is close to our home. The decor is simplistic, but homey. We were immediately greeted by the friendly cashier as well as the owner. I wish I could remember what burgers we ordered, but they were fantastic. The buns are homemade and very very good. The meat is fresh and very juicy. Their fries are homemade and you can taste the difference! Their haymaker drink is very good and comes in a cute mason jar. The prices are very reasonable and are in line with other burger joints! We have now been 3 times in the last month and we will be back again. What a great addition to the Richardson community!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed the fresh burgers and fries. Large selection of beers. The layout of the restaurant is long and narrow and would make it hard to seat a large group together particularly on a busy evening. Very friendly staff and the owners made sure their customers were satisfied with their food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not your average burger joint. Lots of personal service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hamburger joint. The atmosphere was industrial with open ceilings and thick wood top tables with steel legs. There's a bar, seated tables, highboy tables, as well as out door seating. It was a great feeling to be greeted by owners, Jen and Kevin (there was another partner but didn't catch name). Staff was more than helpful even with the multitude of orders. Prices were reasonable and let's not forget food was great. The haystack burger was awesome. They have bear on tap as well as a plethora of bottled bear. The fries are great and big enough to share. The food was worth a return and the service filled the cup. This is quickly turning into a new favorite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haystack Burgers & Barley also viewed

 

Been to Haystack Burgers & Barley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haystack Burgers & Barley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.