We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet

Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet
180 W Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75080
972 250 2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 322 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dallas TX
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A Medittereanean Buffet is a politically correct description for a middle eastern buffet. An Italian buffet is definetly different from a French or Spanish buffet or even a Greek buffet and they are all quite different from a middle eastern buffet. But you can go to Morrocco, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, any of the Emerites, Syria, Oman, Egypt and numerous other Arabic countries and you will find the buffet is very much the same. A middle eastern buffet has all the vegetables we Americans eat either set up seperately so you can choose what you like or finely chopped and mixed in a dozen different combinations with and without yogurt. In addition this restaurant offers a dozen or so meats and fish in a variety of sauces. All the food is very fresh and good, but by comparison with other middle eastern restaurants in Dallas it's quite expensive

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I go here regularly to get takeout. The only reason I have given them four circles is that I got some hummus from them the other day for a party and it was not very good. However, prior to that their hummus is really good. Also amazing is the pita bread, which is made fresh continuously throughout the day. I regularly get hummus, tabouleh, gyros, curry chicken, kofta, tzasiki, etc. and really everything is delicious. The operators are also very nice and seem to work hard to provide quality food. I highly recommend this place. The dining atmosphere is a little bit like an elementary school cafeteria so if you are looking for a nice romantic atmosphere, try Ali Baba just around the corner. But this place is perfect for large groups.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gone Mediterranean!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

6 of us went for a lunch on a Friday afternoon. I feel in love with the food on offer, be it the bread, the chicken or the Hummus. One of the few places in Richardson were we found ample variety of vegetarian fare on offer. Fair variety of breads.

Personally I liked the salad and the chicken.
Being a self confessed dessert aficionado, found the offerings nice and similar to some Indian sweetmeats.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good buffet for hungry fridays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The buffet is standard in offering but above average in taste. great place to go if you are hungry and cant wait for your food to be prepared. I consider this a bit pricy for a casual lunch. Very crowded at lunch so come prepared for long lines.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Spot For Middle Eastern Chow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The only reason I don't eat at Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet every week is because there are so many perfectly prepared favorite dishes that you can't help but overeat. Who can practice self control with all the delicious salads, the wonderful rice and pasta offerings and especially the gyro meat and lamb! The Lebanese breads are fresh made here and the baklava is totally addictive! One of the best values in Richardson!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.