We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Burgers, Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Root Burger Co.

Twisted Root Burger Co.
730 E Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75081
214-570-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 322 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique Burgers, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Twisted Root is a local chain of burger joints that are heavily decorated in a casual style in their venues. Menu options include unique combinations and game meats like bison, and other options as seasonally available. The meat quality is par for a burger joint, but the variety of toppings and quality of the bun make up for the lackluster standard patty option, especially considering a burger with no sides averages $12, which is high for the area competition.

The only reason I would not give this restaurant an Excellent for its genre is because of this particular location's staff attitude. On several occasions, the cashier has been bored or rude to questions, and next to the register is a sardonic sign that says "Oh, you're a paying customer? Then sure, tell me how to do my job." I feel both the signage and the actual attitude conveyed by several staff is too flippant to say this is an 'Excellent' experience, but maybe that's the mood they're going for...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Amazing food, interesting decor, great sassy service, with tons of options to choose from when it comes to eating a hamburger just the way your want it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The burgers were great, liked the sweet potato chips, onion rings pretty tasty. We had fried pickles which were really good, a little salty, but good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent milkshake, terrible turkey burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I ordered the turkey burger, which was incredibly bland with no flavor. However, I had the fried green beans which were amazing. The peanut butter brownie milkshake was also amazing. My husband had the bison burger which was pretty good. The sweet potato chips were not that good.
The staff was nice in that they let me exchange the sweet potato chips for the fried green beans. For two of us two get burgers, side, and a drink was over $30. This was way too pricey for the quality of food in my opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good burger for the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Twisted Root makes a good burger. Just make sure you have at least an hour to burn. Plenty of varieties of meat and toppings. You are given a pop-culture name instead of a wait number. I was Flounder. Hint: National Lampoon

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Root Burger Co. also viewed

 
Richardson, TX
 

Been to Twisted Root Burger Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Root Burger Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.