We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen

Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen
700 E Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75081
972-235-7992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 321 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Keighley
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Often in Dallas on business and Russo's makes a pleasant change from the hotel food. Staff are genuinely welcoming and the food is always of good standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have eaten at Russo's several times in my travel to Richardson TX. I usually have the Chicken Parmesan. But this week was different.

This family restaurant has big portions so bring your appetite. I can make a meal out of their bowl of Minestrone soup. This time I did a cup of the soup. Remember I said the portions are big ... it comes in what they call a small bowl and is packed with vegetables with some pasta $2.95

I had the Stromboli a type of Calzone as my main course. It’s a 12 inch pizza hold the sauce that is folded over with sauce on the side. Mine had Pepperoni, Italian sausage, fresh mushrooms, black olives, green bell peppers, and mozzarella cheese $10.95 and ice tea bottomless $2.25
The pizza sauce at Russo's is old style Italian tomato sauce.

I have never had a desert at Russo's just too much before I get that far.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent pizza,great choices for make your own.All pizzas are 1/2 price on Monday's. They also have a very tasty beet salad,large enough for two.
The focaccia bread is just OK

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great wood fired pizza and the veal/meat tortelini were excellent. The service was over the top. The bread for the olive oil dipping sauce was awesome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great pizza - huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you have lunch here, you will have leftovers for dinner or next day's lunch. I had a slice of Chicken Pesto Pizza for $6.50. The pizza was great and so was the bread (starter). It was a huge slice. My friends ordered the lunch combos and all had to take to-go bags.
The food is great and worth coming back to try some of the other items

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russo's Coal Fired Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.