We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet on weekends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar

Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar
214 W Campbell Rd, Richardson, TX 75080
(214) 575-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 322 Restaurants in Richardson
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Buffet on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Excellent value for money. They also have the buffet on weekends. Service is good. Went there a couple of times.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“An agreeable Indian buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had been driving past this place for weeks before deciding to try it out one evening earlier this year, and was glad I did. The buffet is rather small and offered pretty much the standard Indian dishes. Thankfully, their spicyness seemed to be notched down a little, and that made the meal very pleasant. Place was well-patronized on this Monday evening, but the staff was attentive and kept the buffet pans stocked. One fyi: on cold evenings, try not to sit too close by the door, or you'll get a cold breeze on your back every time the door opens. The buffet meal was reasonably priced at under $8 for dinner.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Monday Night All-You-Can-Eat Buffet Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

There is an all-you-can-eat Monday lunch and dinner special. The salad, Naan bread, vegetables, Tandoori chicken, and other Indian favourites are offered. It is an excellent value and good quality food over the nearby fast food places. I have been numerous times and it does not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“My friend from India picked it, and liked it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Mumtaz has all my favorites on the buffet line, even Gulab Jamuns for dessert today! Love it. My friend Sameep said it ranked high and he's from an Indian family that cooks. He said put your fork down, this is Indian food, so we scooped with our naan and enjoyed every bite. I think the staff enjoyed our enthusiasm.
Service is very good, food quality and flavor are better than any buffet I've been to. This is an excellent value. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The place to be in Richardson a Saturday night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We were helping our son move into a condo in Richardson, where he is starting grad school at UT Dallas. It was 10:40 p.m. on a Saturday night, and we were all exhausted and despairing of finding a decent place to eat, when we saw the "open" sign at Mumtaz. No hotel food - yippee! What a find! We walked in on about 10 Indian families doing karaoke, and a number of happily buzzed techies. The wine list, while limited, was adequate. The food was good. The atmosphere was terrific, and the owners very hospitable and gracious, especially given the late hour. I would highly recommend this place. If you just come for the lunch buffet you're missing half the fun.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumtaz Indian Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.