We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa -- substandard hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Spa -- substandard hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We were part of 20 people who drove to Tanglewood for a retreat. We had called ahead in advance to make lunch, dinner, and conference room reservations. Upon arrival we checked in and then went to the Barnacle for lunch. They had no record of our reservation and scrambled to get tables set up. The whole two hours we were there there was only 4 other people eating the restaurant. We were stumped by the name of the place. Not a single seafood or fish item on the menu.

The parking lot is 50 yards from the hotel, plan on borrowing a cart to haul your luggage. Not a bellhop was to be seen the whole time we where there. The water in the rooms tastes horrible. Plan to bring your own. The drains for both the sink and tub backed up and drained slowly. Room walls were thin and you can hear conversations in nearby rooms. Doors opening and closing woke us on a number of times. We could barely see the lake from our window.

We had dinner reservations made well in advance. When we arrived they did not have the tables set up for our group. 20 minutes later we were seated. An hour and 45 minutes after being seated our dinner arrived. Even when it arrived it wasn't until the second water refill did the waiter realize that one of the people in our party still did not have their food. I had the beef stroganoff and I think it had more butter than cream.

On a positive note, the spa was wonderful!! My wife and I did a couples massage. Before the massage you are served wine before going into a private room with whirlpool and sauna. The massages were heavenly, we both thought they were the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    38
    33
    26
See reviews for
69
66
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Tanglewood rents three types of accomodations: hotel rooms, condos and villas. We stayed in the hotel. The villas seemed very popular but apparently are not numbered so well because we were stopped three times by different frustrated guests trying to find a particular villa. What makes the villas different from the condos we aren't sure because the villas look a lot like the condos except stucco'd. The condos may be privately owned and that could explain a wide disparity in reviews.

Parking was no problem but they did ask you to park on the grass if you had a trailer. No one appeared to do that, however, and there was still plenty of room in the parking lot.

The room itself was on the second floor which is actually a floor below the lobby. There are two elevators to go between floors but one of them smelled incredibly musty (like feet). It's just as easy to use the stairs. The room was nice, fairly basic. There was a small stain on the sheet, smaller than the size of a dime, and it had clearly been laundered and simply didn't come out. A more attentive housekeeper would have spun the sheet so that the stain wasn't visible. There was also a small pebble left on the floor in the bathroom. Again, everything was clearly clean but the housekeeping is not paying attention to detail.

There were several large groups at the hotel the weekend we were there - a high school reunion, a famiy reunion, and a retirement party. According to staff, this is fairly normal. Saturday night the Tower Lounge was closed from 7:30 to 1:00 for a private party due to one of these groups so it might be worth checking if you are coming for a special weekend that all of the facilities will be open to all guests.

The Tower Lounge is beautiful, furnished with overstuffed couches and chairs of different styles. At least one of the tables has seen better days and made me suspect that at least some of the furnishings are antique rescues from estate sales or something like that. It could be actual original furnishing since the hotel was founded in the 1950's. The view from the lounge is incredible. The drinks made in this bar are not as good as what you get in the other two bars. We ended up leaving two partially drunk strawberry daquiris behind when we left.

The Yacht Club is the other bar in the old part of the hotel near the tower lounge and is connected to the dining room. The best drinks are here and I highly recommend the margaritas. The bartender, Connie, is great and has a special knack with drink making. The atmosphere here is great - all the original stuff (including the original front desk) has been preserved and there is a smell in the air that is wonderfully old. Hard to describe but we adored it.

Barnacles is the bar by the pool. The bartender there, Marcus, makes good but inconsistent margaritas. The first he made for us was one of the best I've had but the next day they weren't as good. Barnacles is apparently the most popular bar on the property but gets very loud when full of people. They serve a limited amount of food (like meatball sandwiches) for around $8, closer to $10 after you add the service charge.

The dining room had a very nice breakfast buffet and has big windows looking out on the lake. You should be aware, however, that there is an 18% additional service charge on everything (including the drinks in the bars mentione above). This is NOT a tip to the server. Our understanding is that the management raised the wage of the servers when they started charging the additional service charge. The end result is that everything 18% more than the posted price. We feel that it would have been more forthright to simply raise the price instead of adding the service charge because it looks like a tip and the employees can't tell you what the deal is unless you ask them directly. If you want to tip your server, you have to accept that the actual price is18% more than what is on the menu and write in an additional tip. The end result for us is that our breakfast come out to be $35 and, while very good, we have had more expansive buffets for less elsewhere (Shepherd's in FL comes to mind). They have an impressive looking dinner menu, though also pricy even before the service charge (around $20 an entree, $23.60 after the service charge) .

The pools are very nice and constantly packed with patrons. The hot tub is large and seats a lot of people comfortably. Highport Marina is a quick jog down the hill (and has an excellent restaurant and bar at more reasonable prices). The grade on the hill is steep and the road is not lit. Cars also tend to speed by so be careful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Except for the 3 nice pools and a decent dinner menu, the rooms were similar to old apartments - outdated and cheap furniture, clogged bath tubs and sinks (so bad that we waited for the previous round of water to drain before opening the faucet again!), and smoke-smelly rooms. We changed our room twice immediately upon checkin - due to the smell of smoke.

The people (front desk and waiters) were just nice folks and made up for some of the bad room experiences.

The worst thing is that every meal (whether dine-in or carry-out) had an 18% surcharge. THIS 18% SURCHARGE DOESNT GO TO THE WAITERS. YOU HAVE TO TIP ADDITIONALLY TO REALLY GIVE THE WAITERS WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY THEIRS.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Very disappointing place to stay that is run by young adults. Appeared to be run down and not maintained. Checking was 2 hours late since the room was not clean for us to check-in and told us no other rooms were available. Ants were in room that bit us during our stay. Had to call 2 times to get someone to come spray for ants. Surprised to find only sheets on the bed, no bedding at all. Lake view room DOES NOT have a view of the lake, which is the most expensive and best room they have. They told us it was a great high quality hotel, but appeared more like a 2 star condo.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I love Tanglewood Resorts. It is a beautiful place to stay. Very Relaxing yet close to Shopping, activities and restaurants. Tanglewood is on Lake Texoma and is just awesome for boating or just watching others boating. If you want a great getaway...this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I'll start out by saying that I liked this place and was pleasantly surprised with how much I did like it.

This place is out in the middle of nowhere and Lake Texoma, so if you're going there with certain expectations, just know that going into it. If you're going in the summer, warmer time of the year, you'll be able to take advantage of the pools and lake. If you're going there when we did (January), the best bet for something to do is to go 15 minutes into Denison and go look at some antique stores, or cross the river over 75 or 35 and hit up a casino. They do have a spa there too that was really nice and relaxing, it was nice.

Rooms: We stayed in a "Master Suite" that was about $100 a night plus tax. Not sure about what I've heard in the other reviews, but ours was updated large and really nice. It reminded me of a nice, 1 bedroom condo. It has a living room, dining room, full kitchen, large porch with table & chairs, washer & dryer to was clothes, 1/2 bath. Then the master bedroom with the king size bed, a large bathroom with 2 sinks, a closet, and between the bed and bathroom is a large jetted tub :-). Everything really was pretty up to date, except the tv's & clock radio.

I didn't have any issue with it not being clean and really had a fairly pleasant experience.
The breakfast was ok, not all that great. It's a buffet and it's $10 per person. Denison is the closest place with places to eat. Pottsboro has next to nothing.
WORD OF ADVISE: Bring your own drinks/water. Looking back, I'm surprised that I didn't read this on any of the other reviews. You don't want to drink the tap water. It smells like bleached/chlorine water. The water is treated heavily because of the water having so much sulpher in it. There is a kitchen with a full size frig in it, so do yourself a favor and bring drinks.

Sorry I don't have any photos.

  • Liked — It is basically a condo
  • Disliked — the water
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed with my parents at this beautiful resort for 2 nites on the weekend, however they will be there for a week as reserved through their timeshare. It is a very beautiful resort. The grounds are very nicely manicured. Our condo was so roomy, spacious bathrooms, king size bed in one room with a hot tub, marble vanity with 2 sinks, and 2 queens in the other room with marble vanity and 2 sinks. Also a half bath off of the hallway. Roomy kitchen. We ate at the breakfast buffet and it was good. My parents have stayed there twice before and said the dinners are good also. We did not spend anytime on the lake so I cannot answer any questions about that. I mainly wanted to put pictures on here for you to see. Very quiet place and people are friendly that work there. This place use to be a Country Club but it's a hotel, resort and convention center now. Husband and dad played golf one day and the course was good. They have 3 pools and a hottub and a tower that has a bar at the top and a lookout over the lake that is fabulous. The town of Pottsboro is very small but has a few places to eat . Dennison is about 15 min away east and Sherman a little further south. Gainesville about 30 min west. Choctaw Casino is about 30 min. Winstar Casino about 40 min.
I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Liked — quiet, clean, spacious condos
  • Disliked — don't know anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From fine dining to a casual pool-side experience at Barnacles Sports Bar & Pizzeria, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis match at one of our lighted tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 300-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, business center, poolside lounge, gift shop, arcade game room, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.