We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's Day 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderful weekend , we love visiting Tanglewood..such a gem close to home and yet such a relaxing getaway . The staff is the friendliest anywhere and always so accommodating. We enjoyed lunch at The Island Bar and Grill..just around the bend from hotel. We had a wonderful massage at Tranquility spa and watched basketball games with a cocktail in Barnacles. The special Valentines Dinner was amazing and Adam does make an awesome Cosmopolitan!..thank you for yet another show of Texas hospitality..see you soon.

Room Tip: If you need something..just ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Tanglewood Resort as the destination for your special day! We appreciate the wonderful feedback and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Please come visit us a again soon to get another dose of our Texas hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    38
    33
    26
See reviews for
69
66
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherman, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We enjoyed New Years celebration and had dinner which was fabulous with lots of choices. The breakfast buffet the next morning was equally great. Our room was recently remodeled and was wonderful. The highlight of the experience was definitely the hospitality and warmth of the staff. We will be back for sure!
Terry and Susan

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Terry,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you are able to come back and visit soon.

Thank you an we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed at Tanglewood resort for New Year's Eve. The New Year's eve dinner buffet was outstanding with Prime Rib, salmon, chicken dishes, all the extras, sides and great desert, specially the bread pudding. Our room was clean and overlooked lake Texoma. All the staff were very friendly and eager to assist anyway they could. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: 5th floor recently remodeled and very nice, get a room overlooking the lake and island's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Tammie,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are able to come visit us again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Tanglewood is one of the worst resorts. The rooms are small and plain half the time the heater wouldn't work in the room. There was no hot water in the shower and the cable was out. The food was a joke no where close to 5 star worthy. I have had better cafeteria food than Tanglewood.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take our reviews very seriously and appreciate your feedback.

It seems that your experience in our hotel room was not as accommodating as our villas may have been for you. Aside from our hotel rooms we also have Tower Suites, Master Villas (1100 sq ft), and 2 bedroom Villas (1500 sq ft). These are much more spacious and hold much more to be discovered in these larger rooms.

We have maintenance on property and they are always available to take care of any issues that may arise during your stay. At anytime you may call the front desk to notify of the problems you are experiencing and we will send maintenance right up to your room to take care of you.

I am sorry to hear that you were not a fan of the meal you had while on property. Will you give me some more feedback on your dining experience with us? Which restaurant you were dining in and which entree you had?

We hope that in the future you will give us another chance and allow us to satisfy all of your getaway needs.

Feel free to email or call me at any time to discuss your stay in further detail mwolf@tanglewoodresort.com or 903-462-7809.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the villa and the jacuzzi tub is a MUST!!! The rooms are great, basically it's a one bedroom apartment with fully equipped kitchen. Everything you could need with plenty of space! The rooms have been upgraded with flat screens and have gorgeous modern furnishings and decor. Our room was spotless, even faux plants and under cabinets! We ate at Barnacles for lunch and went back for supper because it was so good! My husband said it was the "best burger ever!" It was very reasonable in price and tasted homemade and fresh! We got drinks at the Yacht Club and took them up to the observation tower which is amazing!!! Go during the day too to get best views though! It's 8 stories up and has breathtaking views! We had breakfast in the dining room and the buffet was wonderful...great selection, fresh, well stocked and tasted great. The two waitresses Sunday morning were so warm and friendly and had smiles on the whole time! Monica arranged and booked our trip as well as checked us in and she was so great!!!! She went above and beyond to make our trip fabulous and answer all our questions! We had not one complaint and it surpassed our expectations! Can't wait to go back...Valentines maybe??? :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi Leslie,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We really hope that your are able to join us again for Valentines Day!

Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband & I used a Groupon to check out the resort and are glad we did. The staff was gracious and helpful. We ate dinner at the Barnacles Sports Bar & Pizzeria and pizza was better than expected. The next morning we ate breakfast in The Commodore Room, the breaskfast bar was well stocked and the food was good. Thanks to Sabrina who waited on us, she was personable and made sure we had all we needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you'll be able to make a trip back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balch Springs, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We wanted to go somewhere, but didn't really feel like a long road trip. Tanglewood is less than 2 hours away and we truly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, the room was clean, and we didn't have to go out if we didn't want to. We went using a Groupon, and we weren't disappointed. My husband is still talking about it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica W, Guest Relations Manager at Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your Anniversary getaway! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From fine dining to a casual pool-side experience at Barnacles Sports Bar & Pizzeria, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis match at one of our lighted tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 300-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, business center, poolside lounge, gift shop, arcade game room, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.