We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lake views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome lake views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

As you think "resort" remember it is a lake in Texas....not a 5 star on the beach in California! Very relaxed family place. Stephanie at the front desk ROCKS! She was so helpful and friendly! The breakfast buffet was okay...breakfast buffets are generally never more than okay.
We ate dinner at the Island Bar & Grill. Again- family marina atmosphere. Lots of energy & fun people watching! Nice location to run away for a night or weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    39
    36
    26
See reviews for
71
70
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Sorry to have to write such a bad review. I don*t know where to start- the pictures are deceiving,
the musty rooms smelled like mildew, the place is so outdated; it was gross to think those carpets and drapes had been there that long. The buffet did not have enough food for everyone; when they would bring out something people would load up and then we would wait another 10 minutes to get a pancake or piece of bacon. Truthfully, I felt sorry for the workers. They were young kids doing the best they could. They were friendly but the place was very understaffed.
I never saw anyone that looked old enough to be in charge. I paid over $300 a night for a villa- this was not a $300/night room! I was told the marina was right behind the Hotel; they were half right. It was a mile and a half walk around the back. The pools were cloudy for whatever reason and the hot tub was above ground, similar to what someone would put in their yard:-(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Ok, so this is my quandry: Is it a fun place to bring the kids and family reunion, etc. and enjoy the pool, the lake, etc.? Yes, it certainly is. However, the word "resort" is definately applicable here, except for the pool! The beds were comfortable, clean linens and towels. That's about it......But for a three night stay, with a view of only a parking lot full of boats, trailers, and trucks, i won't be back.

32" tube t.v. with poor reception makes for annoying late night entertainment option. Excrutiatingly slow food/drink service at the restaurant. Very old and dirty green carpet everywhere! no floor padding whatsoever and a very thin grade of carpet. Being dark green one couldn't tell if it was clean or not. A/C unit in-room was very loud, and with humid, warm weather, you either turn it on high and freeze out, or you turn it on low and it comes off and on ALL NIGHT LONG! Hollow Panel doors would hardly even close, including the front door! (be carfeul with your belongings). The shower had two temperature settings......scalding or cold. no in-between at all. There were many more annoying things, like paint splatter on the walls, carpet, door frames, etc. yellow paint that was awful to look at; neighbors who were smoking the "Mary J" in their room, disgusting smells eminating through the entire corridor until we called security; no towles at the pool; no parking space because the boat trailers took most of them; and lastly...........

I only saw a total of one Adult worker, the entire time we visited! Very nice kids working here, but no one to take charge it seemed. Food was pretty good (chicken salad sand was awesome) but again, the service was so slow that it took away from the experience totally, and was very expensive.

The overall experience was fine, but I would have much preferred staying in a Holiday Inn or similar limited service hotel than this rather dumpy hotel. The bounce house was a hit with the kids, and the service was always with a smile, but to add $15 per day for a resort fee, was frankly an insult.

Room Tip: Demand an upgraded room. If they don't have one, don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I purchased a one night stay (Thank God!!) for $99.00 through Groupon and I must say that I have had far better experiences staying at places like Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn, and EVEN Motel 6!
Our room had black mold growing on the bathroom ceiling, there were spider webs hanging from the ceiling to the top of the curtain, and the tv remote didn't work.
The morning breakfast buffet was a total disaster. Apparently the Manager didn't plan accordingly for a major holiday turn-out so the staff in the dining hall were completely overwhelmed and unable to serve customers efficiently. We waited 20 minutes and reminded waiters passing by,that we hadn't recieved our coffee and juice. I finally got up and found a pitcher with ice water and served myself for I could finish my breakfast!
We will not be returning here, nor will we recommend this place to anyone we know.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We paid $179.00 a night for a room with a lakeview at a resort that looked pretty nice on the Internet. It is amazing how deceiving pictures can be!

We arrived for our long Memorial Day weekend on Thursday night, 5/23. We were not welcomed by the staff. There was a blonde haired male at the desk by himself who seemed put out to have to help us. First strike for this, "resort" and only the first of many when it came to their unfriendly staff.

When we stepped off the elevator onto the 4th floor, there was no Air Conditioning, the floors were dirty, and the smell was musty, cracks in the sheetrock, etc. We arrived at our room, #422 and thought this had to be a joke for what we were paying. The smell was so musty, the furnishings so dated, the paint job looked sloppily done with paint all on the ceiling. The carpet had no padding whatsoever and reminded us of outdoor pet carpeting. Perhaps that explained the smell. The bathroom had cracks in the tile, rust stains from past plumbing in the floor, and was in need of a good scrubbing. I will not rip the room any further but have to mention a reddish colored pleather lazyboy, circa early 1990's that we refused to sit on (we used it as a suitcase perch) and a matching era television. When we finally did get to see our view out the window the next morning, we were impressed. One positive for the, "resort".

I can't give a review on the restaurants there because we thought if the accommodations were so sub-par, just imagine the cleanliness of the kitchens!

We did walk by the pool to get pool towels for the lake (which were just thin bathroom towels, some just wash clothes). We noticed the utility closet was wide open and no surprise, it was a jumbled mess with chemicals and old trash strewn around. Again, these details make you wonder what the cleanliness of their restaurants are like!

We ended up leaving a day early, partially due to weather and partially due to our accommodations. No surprise, the manager would not give us our last night's room fee back.

The one positive of our trip was being so close to Highport Marina so we could have easy access to our boat. That place was run very well and the Island Grill Restaurant was wonderful! We went there 2 nights in a row and really enjoyed ourselves!

Moral of the story, we know good accommodations near Texoma are hard to come by, but we will never come back to Tanglewood unless it is taken over by new management and renovated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in villa 3 and had a good time as always when we go. The food was okay. They took out the hot tub that was very upsetting. Our room was ok the maid service was spectacular my son dropped and broke a glass the lady happened to be in the hall and cleaned it right up. We rented a boat for a good price and they printed directions at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The whole hotel feels damp and humid. Our room looked and felt like a Motel 8 room. Hampton Inn's, Holiday Inn's, etc, rooms are nicer! You had to hold down the handle to flush the toilet in our room. The bathroom door didn't shut. Found a spider on our pillow. Not sure how recently they painted the rooms, but horrible paint job. They have a game room, but half the things in there didn't work. For the money we paid ($119/night), it definitely was not worth it. We could've stayed at a hotel and not a "resort" and had a nicer overall experience. The only pleasant thing was that the front desk employees were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center

Address: 290 Tanglewood Circle, Pottsboro, TX 75076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pottsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pottsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil Texas setting of Tanglewood Resort. Situated on Lake Texoma, Tanglewood Resort offers the finest accommodations, a wide variety of exciting activities, excellent meeting facilities and an experienced, qualified staff sure to make your stay memorable. From fine dining to a casual pool-side experience at Barnacles Sports Bar & Pizzeria, Tanglewood Resort offers a wide range of resort amenities: Relax at one of our 3 pools or hot tub. Enjoy volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, or a tennis match at one of our lighted tennis courts, or sit back and relax.Located just north of Dallas/Ft. Worth and a short drive from Oklahoma, Tanglewood Resort provides the perfect setting for both personal relaxation and business retreats. The Tanglewood Hotel features 120 spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms. Looking for accommodations that are more spacious for the family and family pet? Our 126 beautiful villa rooms will not disappoint with options from 300-1400 sq feet of space. In addition, the hotel is home to the reception and registration area, state-of-the-art meeting space, business center, poolside lounge, gift shop, arcade game room, and Nautilus Fitness Center. Built to overlook the Conference Center, many of the rooms feature breathtaking views of Lake Texoma. The two buildings are adjoined by an enclosed 30-foot skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Hotel Pottsboro
Tanglewood Hotel Pottsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.