We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never can go wrong with a Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portland
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never can go wrong with a Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently while visiting the Portland area and as usual, Hampton Inns never disappoint. They had just recently installed new rugs throughout and our room was roomy, clean, and smelled fresh. Bathroom was also clean and fresh. Comfortable beds and pillows, nice TV, everything looking new. We were very happy here. Staff was helpful and courteous. We plan on staying here during our next visit and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we Thank you so much for noticing our changes at our Hampton. We have worked hard this year to get our changes all completed before summer but we moving along. Hope to see you back real soon.

Thanks again from The whole Staff at The Hampton Inn Portland,
Jane Gimler/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
14
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and mother-in-law decided to take a mini vacation during a break in my wife's school schedule. They decided to stay in Portland, since it would be quieter the Corpus Christi. We booked with the Hampton Inn since we are Hilton Honors members and have always had great experiences with them. They should have realized there was going to be a problem when the room keys did not work and had to be remade. As it turns out this had to be done every day, a new key had to be made. While not a huge inconvenience it was an unnecessary one. Then, the heating element in the hot tub was out. This should have been addressed at check-in so that they could decide whether to keep the booking or look at another hotel. This was, after all, a vacation trip and the hot tub was a necessity. The worst thing though was waking to find a large cockroach running across the bed. This upset my wife and she decided at that point, it was time to go. She has informed me she will not stay at this particular Hampton Inn again.

With that being said, she did love the complimentary breakfast that was served. The cheese omelettes and ham/egg scrambled was very well prepared and tasty. She said the condition of he room was good, other then the cockroach, and that she would still stay at Hampton Inns, just not this one.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this issue to me and allowing me to follow up with our pest control company, Which is Ecolab Pest control they give us a 100% back if our guest find anything in there rooms, ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. I also apologize for the inconveniences you faced with your room key and the hot tub. If we had been aware of the issues you were facing during your stay, we certainly would have done our best to address them at that time. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Thank you. Jane Gimler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I like to head down to the Texas coast every so often for some R&R and like the Portland area because its close to the Corpus Christi area but not as congested as some of the touristy areas. Since we go down there often, we usually don't go all out for a room preferring to stay somewhere not fancy but splurged a little for this hotel since they had a good rate if paid in advance. Hotel was in a good area and had lots of restaurants nearby. We arrived early and the nice girl at the front desk allowed us to check in early and gave us a room on 1st floor just down the hall from the desk. Noise generally doesn't bother us so that was fine and room was great. Pool and fitness center were good and so was business center. Breakfast was just ok but what do you expect from a hotel. Overall I recommend if looking for clean safe lodging in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are happy to hear that you experienced great service and a comfortable stay. It is our first priority to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we appreciate your great feedback. We hope you will stay with us again!

Thank You for your business,
Jane Gimler/GM
Hampton Inn Portland
jane.gimler@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I would definitely give the staff here 5 stars and the breakfast and evening reception are also very good. Rooms are reasonably clean but bathtub mold and mildew is totally unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber. Instead of removing the mildew and hiring a professional to regrout the tub, the hotel pasted plastic adhesive strips around the tub rim. These strips only promote the growth of mildew and are peeling back to expose it. With all the investment recently made in the public areas, you would think there would be enough money available for bleach and caulking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand the condition of the bathtub was of concern; I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. We will be fixing the issue in tubs as necessary and would like thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you as well for the kind words regarding our staff and dining options.

Thank you again for chosing us,
Jane Gimler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Seems to be an older hotel but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

This is not our first time staying at hampton hotels. In fact we paid for three rooms and my dad even enrolled in "Hilton honors" program. His room was good and so was mine. However my sisters room had little spiders in it and was given another room which was not comparable to what she paid for. The following morning we asked for an extra hour of check out which is offered but was first asked if we were all together. After saying we were the lady at the counter said she would only give one room extended check out and that we would need to move our luggage to that room. At one point before normal checkout someone was sent to my room to check and see if we had left yet? This is according to my 14 yr old daughter that was in the room before answering the door. I thought that was rude and even said this to front desk. All I was told was no one has ever complained before. I asked for a manager and was told none was available. I left at checkout anyhow.MAD.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

I would not stay here ever again! 1st, [I have pics] the bathroom in my room had many spiders and they were unable to give me a similar room to fit my needs. 2nd the pool was dirty! 3rd For being a holiday..they did not have enough towels.
The response to all of my troubles was we have never had this happen! No apology just its never happened before! REALLY DOUBT IT!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland

Address: 1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles from Corpus Christi on Highway 181, the Hampton inn Corpus Christi/Portland offers easy access to numerous outdoor activities as well as restaurants that are within walking distance. The two bays surrounding our hotel provide excellent fishing, boating, sailing, swimming, water skiing, and birding. In Corpus Christi, visit the Texas State Aquarium, the USS Lexington Museum and the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History. Start each day of your visit with a free hot breakfast and relax in a comfortable room after a day of sightseeing or bird watching. Make sure to take advantage of the free high speed internet access during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi/Portland Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.