We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief but positive stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portland
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Brief but positive stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I like to head down to the Texas coast every so often for some R&R and like the Portland area because its close to the Corpus Christi area but not as congested as some of the touristy areas. Since we go down there often, we usually don't go all out for a room preferring to stay somewhere not fancy but splurged a little for this hotel since they had a good rate if paid in advance. Hotel was in a good area and had lots of restaurants nearby. We arrived early and the nice girl at the front desk allowed us to check in early and gave us a room on 1st floor just down the hall from the desk. Noise generally doesn't bother us so that was fine and room was great. Pool and fitness center were good and so was business center. Breakfast was just ok but what do you expect from a hotel. Overall I recommend if looking for clean safe lodging in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are happy to hear that you experienced great service and a comfortable stay. It is our first priority to ensure that our guests are satisfied and we appreciate your great feedback. We hope you will stay with us again!

Thank You for your business,
Jane Gimler/GM
Hampton Inn Portland
jane.gimler@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
14
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I would definitely give the staff here 5 stars and the breakfast and evening reception are also very good. Rooms are reasonably clean but bathtub mold and mildew is totally unacceptable in a hotel of this caliber. Instead of removing the mildew and hiring a professional to regrout the tub, the hotel pasted plastic adhesive strips around the tub rim. These strips only promote the growth of mildew and are peeling back to expose it. With all the investment recently made in the public areas, you would think there would be enough money available for bleach and caulking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problem. I understand the condition of the bathtub was of concern; I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. We will be fixing the issue in tubs as necessary and would like thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you as well for the kind words regarding our staff and dining options.

Thank you again for chosing us,
Jane Gimler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Seems to be an older hotel but clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

This is not our first time staying at hampton hotels. In fact we paid for three rooms and my dad even enrolled in "Hilton honors" program. His room was good and so was mine. However my sisters room had little spiders in it and was given another room which was not comparable to what she paid for. The following morning we asked for an extra hour of check out which is offered but was first asked if we were all together. After saying we were the lady at the counter said she would only give one room extended check out and that we would need to move our luggage to that room. At one point before normal checkout someone was sent to my room to check and see if we had left yet? This is according to my 14 yr old daughter that was in the room before answering the door. I thought that was rude and even said this to front desk. All I was told was no one has ever complained before. I asked for a manager and was told none was available. I left at checkout anyhow.MAD.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

I would not stay here ever again! 1st, [I have pics] the bathroom in my room had many spiders and they were unable to give me a similar room to fit my needs. 2nd the pool was dirty! 3rd For being a holiday..they did not have enough towels.
The response to all of my troubles was we have never had this happen! No apology just its never happened before! REALLY DOUBT IT!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON,TEXAS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Clean. Air conditioner cooled well. Room rate reasonable.

Two sets of manual doors at entry so getting luggage cart through was a bear.
A very strange odor throughout facility ( carper cleaner??).
Room 315 has mold over the bathroom door (ceiling in bedroom was patched from a previous water leak)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

About the same as my last visit a few years ago. Not the best Hampton Inn in the world but adequate. Breakfast is fine but the evening "Manager's Reception" is pitiful with the only snack offerred being microwave popcorn, night after night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, but would like to let you know that we have made great changes to our Manager's reception, we now have pizza night, hot wings and lot's more. So please stop by anytime & check out again. We also have our new plans for our Lobby & Breakfast room soon to be remodel also.

Thanks again,
The Staff of The Hampto Inn Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland

Address: 1705 Highway 181 North, Portland, TX 78374
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 miles from Corpus Christi on Highway 181, the Hampton inn Corpus Christi/Portland offers easy access to numerous outdoor activities as well as restaurants that are within walking distance. The two bays surrounding our hotel provide excellent fishing, boating, sailing, swimming, water skiing, and birding. In Corpus Christi, visit the Texas State Aquarium, the USS Lexington Museum and the Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History. Start each day of your visit with a free hot breakfast and relax in a comfortable room after a day of sightseeing or bird watching. Make sure to take advantage of the free high speed internet access during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Corpus Christi/Portland Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Corpus Christi / Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.