We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Traditions

Texas Traditions
234 East Main Street, Port Lavaca, TX 77979
361 553 5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Port Lavaca
Cuisines: American
Description: 361-553-5555
Restaurant details
Description: 361-553-5555
Victoria, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wanted my first review to be a positive one, but this was not the case. It was a bad sign when we arrived right in the middle of what I thought would be the lunch time, after church rush, and found the place three quarters empty. The service was fine and the waitress was pleasant. However, the food was less than stellar. I had the meatloaf sandwich. The meatloaf itself was fine, but nothing special. I appreciated the small bits of onion and bell pepper, rather than the large chunks I find in other restaurants. However, it was served in a cold, soggy ciabatta bun, which broke apart two bites into the sandwich. My wife ordered the Ultimate Club sandwich. I'm sorry, but this was NOT a club sandwich. This was a regular sandwich on a cold, soggy ciabatta bun. The bacon was not crispy and the ham was probably bought at HEB, and was drowning in mayo. I've had better sandwiches at Subway. My daughters chicken nuggets were nice and crispy, but they were standard microwave fare. The dessert was excellent. We tried the ding dong which salvaged the entire experience. I would figure a place called Texas Traditions would have Texas toast, which would have been great with both our sandwiches.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great hometown place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is great. Food is tasty and in good portions. You have to try the Jack Daniel's Pecan Pie or the homemade ding dong.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Found prices a little high, but our food was great and so was the staff. Very polite and friendly. They have it very clean and nicely decorated. Texas Traditions sits on main street, which is really quaint cute. It is also very close to the gulf/port where there is a nice little park/marina that we would like to go back and visit. We have eaten at a few other places, but so far this by far has been the best food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must have been a bad night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Heard lots of good things about this restaurant, Went in for something a little bit different from what I have been trying out in Port Lavaca. Ordered chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes, mainly because they were out of many of their sides. Steak was tough and couldn't eat more than half of it. Disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Love Love Love the country food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The fried pickles were delicious and the country fried steak & mashed potatoes were awesome and homeade :) LOVE this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Traditions also viewed

Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Lavaca, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Texas Traditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Traditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.