We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irene's 80th Birthday meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Al's at Pelican Station

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
201 S Garcia St, Port Isabel, TX 78578
956-943-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln NE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Irene's 80th Birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took Irene where she wanted to go and were not disappointed.
The scallops she loved were exactly what she wanted. We got a great seat overlooking the bay.
The fried Shrimp were huge and my wife was disappointed she ordered something else after she saw my meal.
The Service was great and the waiter was very fun.
Irene will go back as often as she can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your recent visit to our restaurant ,we hope Irene comes back for her 81 birthday too, thanks for your visit ,and your positive coments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    64
    16
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Really Great Place for a nice meal with a view....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even though it was raining like crazy outside, we enjoyed sitting close to the windows overlooking the bay. Service was very good. On the way in, a customer stopped us and said "Try the Fish Chalupas. They are great!!" We ordered the crab cake appetizer and the fish chalupas. Wonderful. Every bit as good as Pappadeauxs (our favorite seafood place) and a lot less expensive! The atmosphere was laid back and we enjoyed all the railroad memorabilia. The key lime pie could've been a little more tart, but it was still very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed our seafood chalupas , they have won first place two years in a row in our towns chalupa contest, we apreciate your business and your positive coments we hope to see you soon,thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten at Dirty Al's Pelican Station multiple times. Always perfect and always delicious. I am particularly fond of their lobster bisque (huge chunks of lobster--yum!), red snapper, and any of their breakfast dishes (tacos and biscuits and gravy especially). The breakfast tacos are HUGE and so delicious. I also recently tried their homemade cookies (I think they are pan dulce), made fresh and melt in your mouth. I have never been disappointed in their waitstaff--very responsive and professional. Hope I can get back to Port Isabel soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your recent visit to our restaurant ,we are glad you had a great experience and hope you share it with your friend back in your home town,and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nicer Atmosphere that SPI Dirty Al's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Good seafood, more creative dishes available than at Dirty Al's SPI. Nice atmosphere but a little loud due to the beautiful high ceilings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks for your visit we are glad you had a good experience ,sorry that the ceiling causes that loud effect ,the building was not built the right way maybe,but we hope you over look that detail the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice setting with lots of seats overlooking water. Very reasonably priced breakfast served by pleasant wait staff. Good fod!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your recent visit ,we're glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere ,we hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.