We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Al's at Pelican Station

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
201 S Garcia St, Port Isabel, TX 78578
956-943-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our go-to place for breakfast when we are in South Padre. It is right on the bay, across the highway from the lighthouse. The food is really good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast here is enough to last you most of the day. The place is very clean and is classier than most of the places on the mainland....but once again, you can't beat the prices...breakfast for two, with coffee and juice for right around $20. (That's eating the higher priced things on menu....you could get by with an individual breakfast for way under $10.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit,we are glad we met your expectations ,and hope you come back ,thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    80
    17
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lidgerwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“it was an okay placeto go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

the food wasnt bad but it was a little dirty and smelly when you walked in. Entertainment was pretty good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your visit ,I hope we can meet your expectations next time, since what you experienced is not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor food preparation and drink.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I are from Harlingen and decided to try Pelican Station. The interior decor is great as is the view. We both ordered the Shrimp and Oysters. The waitress greeted us in English and then said to us in Spanish that she hoped that we would not be as rude as the 'viejo' (old man) in the table next to us. He and his daughter and grandson were from Mexico City, we later heard him say! We found this comment very rude coming from her when she doesn't even know us! When she returned with our drinks, she asked for our order in Spanish. We didn't enter this place speaking any other language, than English. I made it clear to her that we spoke English.
Our shrimp and oysters were nothing to recommend. The oysters were over fried and were hard. One of mine had pieces of shell and were disgusting to chew. When I took a drink of my iced tea, I nearly threw up! There was a piece of gelatinous substance that I sucked up throw the straw and spit out on the table!! When the waitress walked by I told her about it and she was concerned.
We asked for the bill and I refused to pay for the tea. She said she had to clear with the MGR??? There was no question about this. I was going to be charged for "slime" in my tea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We want to thank you for your visit, and please accept my apology if you didn't have a good experience , what happened to you is not the normal, most people had been please. With food and service, so we will find out what went wrong to fix it, thank you for your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't get the appeal of this place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very so-so. Skewer of grilled shrimp was okay. Baskets are not baskets, but plates. Assumption of salad accompanying grilled, and fries with fried fish made by waitress. Harried pace in Feberuary, where interior appeared to be warehouse of winter Texans (at lunch). Shredded greens with sliced tomatoes atop and mayo in paper cup hardly qualifies as a salad. Try Yummie's or Pier 19 for great salads.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for coming, we thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Memorable Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had some great shrimp at Dirty Al's. Also had breakfast here. Can't go wrong visiting this restaurant. Service was great!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe R, Owner at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are glad you did enjoyed your visit with us thanks for giving us the oportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.